We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”
Review of The Clachan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Clachan
Ranked #1 of 19 Wick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeming, North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed at the end of January, Elspeth is a total charmer and The Clachan is quite superb. Given that Wick is a grimy, unspectacular town with, frankly, very little to recommend it, ( apart from a very decent Wetherspoons ) it's all about the journey there ( which, by train, is superb ) and then the B&B experience once there. Having stayed at a very poor other B&B in Wick previously, a lot of hope / expectation was placed on The Clachan and it didn't disappoint at all

Quite superbly appointed room, massive ensuite, and Elspeth's breakfast was A1, All in all, an excellent B&B, can easily see why it is ranked No 1 in Wick

Next planned trip to Wick is January 2014 - The Clachan will be the first port of call for accommodation, and if by chance Elspeth is unable to accommodate us......we'll miss Wick out totally !

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are equally good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esmeralda61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
153
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I have lost count of the occasions that I have stayed in the Clachan as I travel with my work - I have stayed in each of the bedrooms and all of them are of a very high standard. The welcome is typical of this friendly part of the world, the rooms are beautifully decorated and are very well equipped. WiFi is available which is essential when away from home. The breakfast choice is vast and delicious. A highly recommended B & B!

Room Tip: There are two double rooms and one with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Despite the fact that I called at very short notice and was out of season, Elspeth opened up the B&B for me and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Rooms are very clean and well equipped and breakfast was fantastic. Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roliver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Outstanding! Very high quality accommodation, supreme level of cleanliness & attention to detail. Thanks Elspeth.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerviniaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

From Elspeth your hosts warm welcome to the lovely modern room and the great breakfast. Everything about the Clachan is great we highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Only stayed one night, but the Clachan was really great. Thank you Elspeth!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarLuxManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

From the moment we arrived, to Elspeths warm Scotish welcome, to our fond fairwell this was by far one of the best B&B experience my husband and I have ever had. We only stayed one night but were so wonderfully catered to that we wished we could stay longer. The accomadations were comfortable , extremely clean and modern. After a good nights sleep we encounctered a spectacular Scottish breakfast which we couldn't stop eating and after being so well nourished I don't think we ate again until late afternoon. Thank-you Elspeth for helping to make our holiday to Scotland one we will never forget and if we are fortunate to return we will most definitly come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABritintheUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.5 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
253 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
218 reviews
250.7 mi away
Alba Sunrise
Alba Sunrise
#4 of 19 in Wick
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clachan

Property: The Clachan
Address: 13 Randolph Place, Wick KW1 5NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clachan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Highland welcome awaits you at "The Clachan” where we have been welcoming guests for nearly three decades and have recently undergone a total refurbishment. Come and discover John o' Groats, Castle of Mey, Dunnet Head or why not visit Wick Heritage Centre. You can enjoy a trip with the Seacoast Tours around the coastline of Caithness or take a trip over to the Orkney Islands, you won’t be disappointed. We are approximately a ten-minute walk from the centre of town where you will find a range of restaurants, pubs and hotels to cater for your meals. We are proud to have achieved 4 Gold Stars with the S.T.B. and 4 Gold Stars with the A..A.. and are a founder member of Scotland’s Best B&B’s. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Clachan Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing