We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class B&B”
Review of The Clachan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Clachan
Ranked #1 of 19 Wick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pierowall, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class B&B”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed one night on road home to Orkney,Great hospitality, room was very nice and was very quite with being at the back of the house, nice big shower and it was all very clean, with an exellent breakfast in the morning. Will stay again. 110%

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
148
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We spent a lovely two nights here. Although the B&B has been in operation for a long time, everything felt as if it had opened last week. The facilities, the decore, the food, and the owner's enthusiasm were all very fresh. We could not fault a thing about the Guest House. Although parking was on the road, the car and its contents were probably far safer than in a protected compound in other parts of the country.
We really enjoyed our stay and loved our chats with the owners.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed in Sept 12 for 2 nights before going to the Orkneys, This b&b is the best,it puts some hotels to shame. the rooms are exellent and the breakfasts are the best you can get. Elspeth the owner is full of info regarding places to eat and things to do and see Highly Recomended

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSCDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We came to the Wick in September. We have booked 1 night at The Clachan. I have never seen such a great hospitality. The rooms been just spotless. Really enjoyed stay over. Will definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinaBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My wife and I together with our Daughter and Son-in-law stayed here for one night before getting the ferry to Orkney. We cannot speak highly enough about the Clachan. The place was spotless, the facilities were excellent and the service provided by Elspeth is an example to all Hotel and B&B owners. Thanks Elspeth and you can be assured of our custom the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoringBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalgety Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the Clachan. This B&B is ideally situated in Wick. Elspeth, the owner, is an amazing hostess and will give you an amazing choice of breakfasts and they will be cooked to perfection. She allowed me to stay in the dining room all day (as I had to work) and even offered me lunch! The rooms are spacious and perfectly clean. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjiandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was a return visit to The Clachan as we loved it before!!
The whole experience is an absolute delight. Elspeth is a wonderful hostess- friendly and very helpful. The rooms are quiet, very comfortable and spotlessly clean with solid, quality furnishings. Without a doubt The Clachan is BETTER than any Hilton or quality hotel chain. It truly cannot be faulted. Breakfast was delicious and Elspeth was very accommodating to our times and breakfast requests. I don't think we could consider staying anywhere else when in or around the area. We'll definitely be back. :D

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.6 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
347 reviews
250.7 mi away
Alba Sunrise
Alba Sunrise
#3 of 19 in Wick
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clachan

Property: The Clachan
Address: 13 Randolph Place, Wick KW1 5NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clachan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Highland welcome awaits you at "The Clachan” where we have been welcoming guests for nearly three decades and have recently undergone a total refurbishment. Come and discover John o' Groats, Castle of Mey, Dunnet Head or why not visit Wick Heritage Centre. You can enjoy a trip with the Seacoast Tours around the coastline of Caithness or take a trip over to the Orkney Islands, you won’t be disappointed. We are approximately a ten-minute walk from the centre of town where you will find a range of restaurants, pubs and hotels to cater for your meals. We are proud to have achieved 4 Gold Stars with the S.T.B. and 4 Gold Stars with the A..A.. and are a founder member of Scotland’s Best B&B’s. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Clachan Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing