We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“October break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodge House

The Lodge house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge house
Galley Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The Lodge house
Galley Kitchen
Double room
Double room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
HEATHER H
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“October break”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We arrived to a well lit warm house. Catherine arrived soon after to welcome us. The lodge is in a wonderful setting, lovely to wake up to. There is everything you could possibly want in the house, which is quaint but very cosy. Going to the nearby pub required a torch as no street lights. We had a wonderful time and would thoroughly recommend the lodge to anyone looking at a break in caithness. Thank you so much Catherine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Hi Heather,
What a lovely review! Thanks so much. It was lovely to meet you and i'm glad you had a good time up here. Maybe see you again
All the best
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forresl20...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Caithness re-visited”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The lodge was comfortable and good value for money. Everything worked as it should. Television needed Catherine's intervention and although not 100% it was watchable. Would happily stay again especially as my wife's family havd an historical connection with the lodge!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
1 review
“was very comfortable ideal place to stay for fishing in caithness ,I will be back .”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I would recomend the lodge house to anyone visiting caithness ideal location comfortable and quite .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 May 2017
Thanks very much for the lovely review, it was nice to have you and I hope you had a good trip back home.
All the best
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review, I'm glad you had a good time and hope you had a good trip back home. All the best
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LindaG196...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Comfortable & Cosy”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Lodge House is a real hidden treasure, it is comfortable and cosy, set in the beautiful grounds of Thrumster House. The grounds of the house offer you space and tranquility to walk & ponder life. You can also explore Thrumster Broch which is set in the grounds of this beautiful place. Catherine the host is really warm and welcoming and is happy to respond to any questions you may have. I would highly recommend this wee cottage. It's home from home while you explore the delights that the Caithness landscape has to offer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corran
Glenfarg, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ideal for that short stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is not a luxurious cottage. But if you want that you can find it an awful lot more money. This is a very comfortable, clean place that is perfect for the sort of thing I was there to do, which was to take photographs.

I need some where I can come back to to prepare food, to sleep comfortably and keep myself reasonably presentable (although when you're out in Caithness doing landscape photography, keeping nice and clean is not usually one of the priorities. You gotta get down and muddy!)

Very friendly and accommodating host.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing