We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful.”

The Kitchen Brasserie
Ranked #16 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$49
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Europe
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Kitchen and its older sister restaurant The Mustard Seed are huge assets to Inverness. The lunch menu, at £7.95 for 2 courses, in particular represents superb value. We ate here 4 times during our short stay - the banoffee cheesecake alone makes a visit worthwhile.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank strollingplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    476
    169
    86
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stromness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A LITTLE GEM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We went for lunch,and was more then pleasantly suprised,£6.95 for two courses,i had halibut and salmon,and could not fault it,the service was excellent,and a major bonus was local staff,i would highly recommend a visit,we are going to book for the evening meals,the menu is varied,and all of it looks a treat...Well done Inverness a pure star of a restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had orginally booked into The Mustard Seed, however, their menu didn't appeal to us so we decided to give The Kitchen a go and what a superb choice!! The staff are very polite and hardworking. We ate off their lunch menu, and we were impressed by each dish. Although I'm not so sure sure if I would pay for their A la carte dishes.The tables are very close togther but our view overlooking the River Ness made up for that.

Overall, a fantastic meal and we would definately return!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spike79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great views, great food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We sat upstairs by the glass walls overlooking the River Ness and enjoyed excellent food and wine. We'd had a recommendation from a scotsman so decided to try it, and we weren't disappointed. It was beautifully appointed, with median-range prices for a good quality a la carte restaurant, and wonderful local seafood.
We also ate at "The Mustard Seed" across the river, owned by the same family. It was a different ambience, but also, great food and service.
Just lovely. If you can, dine at both.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JodeeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

go for the early supper- great food fabulous value- great atmosphere- ask for table overlooking river

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hovancsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kitchen Brasserie also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Kitchen Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing