We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe 1derful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe 1

Cafe 1
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe 1 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$58 - US$59
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cafe 1derful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Went with a big group (16 of us) for my sister's birthday. The interior is fantastic and the lighting really adds to the ambiance. Set menu was £35 for a 3-course dinner. Service was fantastic as the waitresses were smiling and attentive to our individual requirements. My only regret is not being able to finish dessert (the crepes are scintillating!). The food was great, not overdone and if there was a dish with multiple main ingredients, you could taste them and realise which flavour was which. Staff presented us with a giant cupcake, er, cake which was lovely. Highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    156
    87
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing beef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

A nice, somewhat high class restaurant with many traditional scottish meals done in a modern way. We wanted to try the renowned lamb, but got in too late. We got offered the special of the day, rib-eye steaks, which were absolutely delicious. Our different wishes for cooking degree (rare/medium/well done) was met with precision. The staff was absolutely lovely, both professional and pleasant. We didn't order a table in advance, as many had recommended, but I think we got a table because we got there quite late (8.30). My suspicion is that scots go out for dinner earlier, around 7. If ever in Inverness, be sure to pay Café 1 a visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janne Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely experience friendly waitresses and good vibe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We ate at Cafe1 last night and we had a fantastic time. Had no booking but managed to get a table. Waitress said out food would take a while but this was not the case. We had sea bass, steak and lamb and it was all lovely. The waitresses were superb they all came to chat. Would definitely go here again if I had the chance!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoJo453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Och aye, so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We ate at Cafe 1 last night, and really could not wait to return! Due to the hospitality of Norman, the owner, we managed to secure a table tonight. The food is simply wonderful, especially the lamb dish, and the fish specials are cleverly designed and perfectly executed. This restaurant is world class, and is worth a visit, if only to salivate over the great artwork which adorns the walls. It's hard to define that certain je ne sais quoi which makes something or someone strike a chord, but Cafe 1 has it, in spades. Thank you Norman, and Neve, so very much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellerholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Visited Cafe 1 earlier this week on recommendation of customer in the area. I had pretty much made up my mind to have the steak after looking at the web-site and was almost tempted by other items on the mention but went with the steak and was absolutely delighted I did! Best steak I've eaten in years - beautifully cooked, presented beautifully. Other guests had the lamb and were equally as pleased with their choice and the fish dish was also enjoyed. Starters and desserts were all first class with an excellent selection of wines on offer - our choice of Chocolate Box was a great pick!!
The staff were all attentive, polite and a great credit to this restaurant.
All in all, an absolute pleasure to enjoy an excellent meal with excellent value for money.
I'm looking forward to making my next trip to Inverness - either business or to visit family, to make another visit to Cafe 1!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe 1 also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cafe 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing