We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service was 1st class”
Review of Nico's Bistro and Bar - CLOSED

Nico's Bistro and Bar
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Scottish, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... While we have a wide choice of wine by the glass, cocktails, a selection of 80 pure malt whisky and more than 10 Scottish gin... Nicky tam's also offers all the favourite classics such as Steak Pie, Haggis, Burgers, Cullen skink and even more on our specials board. With a mix of granite and wood walls, tartan furniture, burning stoves, the scene is set for a family gathering, relaxing afternoon tea, business meeting or simply catching up with friends to get a away from the stresses of the daily routine. We have a large selection of wine by the glass, cocktails, over 80 pure malt whiskies and more than 10 Scottish gins... Please ask for our drink and whisky list at the bar. Definitely worth a look! Our bar is open all day for drinks and coffee, we serve food from 12 to 2:30pm for lunch and from 5pm until 9pm for dinner. Please note that we open for lunch during the winter on booking only
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I ate local produce, the venison was well presented and cooked to perfection...we did eat a little early, as we had been travelling all day, but it was the first place that sold jim beam at the bar in 3 weeks of UK travel...my sis was over the moon...and thanks to the staff for a relaxing, well presented meal

3  Thank Wyrdlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed by accident at The Alexander Guest House in Inverness, I say that because our car broke down and we needed to find a place at a late hour.

Next door was Nicos and we are very glad it was. Great food served in a very relaxed, yet luxurious surroundings.

Highly recommend Nicos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank donnieBlue61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Good service, pleasant staff, excellent food, and the erly bird meal price was a bargain.

Thank Mactab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Many thanks for your review.
Our 'Early Bird' menu is a firm favourite with our regular customers and I am delighted to hear similar feedback from yourself.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind Regards,

Emmanuel Moine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My wife, her parents and myself visited Nico's during a short stay of a few days in Inverness and we had booked a few weeks in advance.

Ness Bank faces the river but the car park for Nico's (and the adjoining hotel) is accessed from the road behind the restaurant, Haugh Road. The car park has a barrier and you need to get a code from the restaurant to exit.

We arrived for our pre-booked 8.00pm table and were greeted warmly as our reservation was checked and acknowledged.

We were shown to our table which was central with lots of room for the four of us.

We ordered drinks and were given the (extensive) menu to peruse and given some bread and oil to nibble on whilst we made our minds up. Several specials were also available on the blackboard.

We didn't fancy starters per se so ordered some further bread and olives which came promptly after we had ordered our main courses. Main courses came and were well presented and tasty.

Not having starters left room for deserts which were again promptly (but not to quickly so as to be rushed) served.

We were asked if we wanted coffee but decided not to and asked for the bill which was duly presented and paid.

We mentioned we had a car in the car park and we were given the code and instructions for inputting it.

All in all visiting Nico's was a pleasurable experience, with friendly staff and good, well cooked food. Certainly worth a visit and the affiliation with the hotel does not detract from the relaxed, informal atmosphere. If anything, the staff were perhaps a little "distant" in that whilst we were well looked after, maybe a little more informal chat would have added to the night. Having said that, we didn't have any cause for complaint and the meal was very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard_Tocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent visit to us.
It sounds like you have had an enjoyable experience and I will ensure to feed your positive points back to our team.
I hope that we may see you again if you return to the area.

Kindest Regards,

Emmanuel Moine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

See our review of the Glen Mhor Hotel. Anytime we visit Inverness we eat here in Nico's as it is convenient and more important very tasty, nice choice of menu. the bar is a delight, very comfortable and relaxing, especially with one of their selection of Malt Whisky in the hand.
One can dine and dash or linger, it is that kind of place. Comfortable dining.

3  Thank Daveom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you once again for you kind words.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed both our hotel and dining facilities.

I do hope you will visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Emmanuel Moine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nico's Bistro and Bar also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing