We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - AWFUL Management!”
Review of Nico's Bistro and Bar - CLOSED

Nico's Bistro and Bar
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Scottish, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... While we have a wide choice of wine by the glass, cocktails, a selection of 80 pure malt whisky and more than 10 Scottish gin... Nicky tam's also offers all the favourite classics such as Steak Pie, Haggis, Burgers, Cullen skink and even more on our specials board. With a mix of granite and wood walls, tartan furniture, burning stoves, the scene is set for a family gathering, relaxing afternoon tea, business meeting or simply catching up with friends to get a away from the stresses of the daily routine. We have a large selection of wine by the glass, cocktails, over 80 pure malt whiskies and more than 10 Scottish gins... Please ask for our drink and whisky list at the bar. Definitely worth a look! Our bar is open all day for drinks and coffee, we serve food from 12 to 2:30pm for lunch and from 5pm until 9pm for dinner. Please note that we open for lunch during the winter on booking only
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food - AWFUL Management!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Long story short (in case you don't want to read my rant below): The food was delicious (scallops/crabcake appetiser was AMAAAAAZING) and the view of the River Ness was perfect but we have NEVER been treated SO rudely by a restaurant employee than what we experienced with the supervisor/manager here. Our waitress was SO nice, and I felt bad that she had to work for SUCH a rude individual.

My husband and I along with our 1 year old daughter arrived into Inverness on a warm July afternoon and were STARVING! We ventured down the hill from our hotel (Kingsmill... excellent place, might I add). It was an easy walk DOWN HILL from the hotel but we made sure to get a cab back up. Due to the unusually warm weather, we thought it was be nice to sit outside along the River Ness. Didn't seem like a strange request given that there were tables out there... but strange that no one was sitting in them. The inside of the restaurant looked quaint, but dark and close quarters for our 1-year old. (Although she's very well-behaved, we figured outside would be easier). We asked the hostess if we could have a table outside and this is where our first encounter with the RUDE manager occurred... she seemed very timid and afraid to ask him if this was ok. After back and forth with the hostess and a very friendly waitress stepping in-- we were seated outside. The manager told the server (never greeting us himself), that we needed to pay for our meal as soon as we order as a liability bc no one else was outside and they didn't want us to skip out on the bill....... we clearly don't look like the type to toss our child in the stroller and run off laughing that we just had a free meal... but fair enough, I get that it COULD happen. So we order our food (apps, soup, main courses, drinks) and hand over our credit card to the waitress for her to run it and pay for the meal. We begin eating our first course and the manager begins hovering... clearing plates almost the second we were done (if not sooner) but never saying a word except one time when he asked if we had more food coming out. Way to rush us!! Then the waitress asked if my husband would like another soda to which he said yes. As Americans we are used to FREE REFILLS and even on our 9th day into our trip around Ireland and the UK, we still couldn't remember that we were charged every time. As we waited for our main course, our little one was getting restless so I took her for a walk along the river. The waitress came back while I was gone and insisted that he pay for the cost of the soda before she could give it to him because this is what her manager was making her do. I had the money in my purse so he had to call for me to get the few sterling (or whatever currency it is) to pay for the soda before she could set it on the table. My husband was FURIOUS. He felt insulted that after we just paid a LARGE amount of money for a nice meal that we hadn't even been served yet and they couldn't put the drink on our table until I walked back to give them the few coins?? When we asked to speak with that manager, he NEVER came out. The waitress apologized over and over but at that point we were upset and it totally ruined our mood for the rest of the meal. It's a shame too because the food WAS good and the waitress was VERY nice but this RUDE and demeaning manager on a power-trip totally ruined our dinner experience with this restaurant. And to have the audacity to not come to our table to explain or apologize is just poor business. I hope he does not have a long future in restaurant management.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JottieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your food and felt your server looked after you, we are however sorry to hear you were treated in this manner and will be investigating this incident to enable us to review our training needs.
We hope this did not disrupt your visit and would like to stress your experience is not how we conduct ourselves at the Nico's.
Our management team will fully investigate this incident and take appropriate action where required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    89
    29
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to eat”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We ate our meal in the sofa-stuffed bar on a fairly quiet night. The staff were very friendly but there's a quirky menu weighed towards grilled food. For some odd reason the haddock arrived with a mini kilner jar of cockles and a pot of tartar sauce - too much crockery on one plate. The Middle-Eastern falafel came with very un-Mediterranean sweetcorn and unremarkable pitta breads. I enjoyed being there and was made to feel welcome but the food was incidental (although there's obviously a greater choice in the restaurant).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put a review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your meal at Nico's.
We serve the fish and chips in the South way... with cockles and mussels. the Falafel with Pitta bread is our way to do a nice vegetarian burger.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to show you more dishes from our extended menu.

Your sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Travelled with family and to visit family. Stopped with out table reservation and was accommodated. The food was well presented and there was a good choice to order from. Chicken wings was tasty and the vegetarian fajitas were good but I did not enjoyed the corn salsa with it. I would return to eat and stay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eastcoldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to put a review.
We're glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Quality food prepares to perfection & attentive device from Ricky”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Very nice food, lively local produce cooked to perfection. Young Ricky looked after us very well which capped the evening off nicely. 24 degrees, sitting in the sun dining al fresco in Inverness - could have been anywhere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaunMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to put a review.
We're glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
the sun keeps shining.... make the most of it!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Lovely but very limited menu.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have been here quite a few times, and still love it. Menu is very limited mostly seafood which is very nice and wine menu is very nice! Nicos is 5min walk from town centre and has a beautiful view from the river! Staff very friendly and professionally dressed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahm767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Many thanks for your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your dinner with us.
Our seafood selection depends on tide, season and weather.... we have more specials on the board when the fisherman comes back wit a good catch!

Your sincerely,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nico's Bistro and Bar also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing