We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back for this Tangine experience alone”
Review of Nico's Bistro and Bar - CLOSED

Nico's Bistro and Bar
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Scottish, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... While we have a wide choice of wine by the glass, cocktails, a selection of 80 pure malt whisky and more than 10 Scottish gin... Nicky tam's also offers all the favourite classics such as Steak Pie, Haggis, Burgers, Cullen skink and even more on our specials board. With a mix of granite and wood walls, tartan furniture, burning stoves, the scene is set for a family gathering, relaxing afternoon tea, business meeting or simply catching up with friends to get a away from the stresses of the daily routine. We have a large selection of wine by the glass, cocktails, over 80 pure malt whiskies and more than 10 Scottish gins... Please ask for our drink and whisky list at the bar. Definitely worth a look! Our bar is open all day for drinks and coffee, we serve food from 12 to 2:30pm for lunch and from 5pm until 9pm for dinner. Please note that we open for lunch during the winter on booking only
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Visited Nico's Restaurant a month or two ago to celebrate middle daughter's birthday with other family members. Lovely setting on a lovely day but happy to sit indoors in the comfy and beautiful bar/restaurant.
Service was spot on and atmosphere perfect but what made the evening for me was the lovely Moroccan cous cous meal layered with butternut squash cooked in the traditional Eastern way in a Moroccan Tangine. Never had that type of meal before but can't wait to try it again. Mmmmmmmmmmmmm
The meal was slightly dearer than I would normally look to pay, but well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandie5552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Many thanks for your very kind reviews.
Glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We will keep the tagine!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently discovered Nicos on a trip to Inverness but didn't have time to eat there so in May this year we decided to come back and try the menu.

We went with the intention of trying the early bird menu, but instead were tempted by just a main meal. This was probably a good job as the main meal was more than filling on its own. I had fish and my partner had a burger.

I love the décor in Nicos - it's very "Scottish" all tartan and dark wood. It feels cosy to me.

I would definitely return next time I'm in Inverness.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Many thanks for your very kind reviews.
Glad you enjoyed your meal with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had a limited meal allowance and some of my preferences were gone by 8.30, however could recommend the rib eye steak with hand cut chips, because the menu was limited the staff very kindly gave me added onion rings and a sauce with my steak

Thank dibblegullane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Many thanks for your kind reviews.
glad you enjoyed your meal with us.
We look forward to welcoming you soon back.

Kind regards
Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We arrived without booking a table on the Friday evening and we had a very short waiting time in the bar (which was very nice and had a rustic setting). The service was very good and timely and the food was superb (my partner and I both had the venison ragout and it was cooked to perfection). The desserts were also very good and it has a nice location near the River Ness. Overall a very enjoyable experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for your very kind review.
Glad you enjoyed your meal with us.
We look froward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Four of us had good dinners there. Be sure to book ahead. Good service, but don't be in a rush. The European wait to have a leisurely meal.

Thank Touchstone04576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for your very kind review.
Glad you enjoyed your meal with us and will work on speediness of service!
We look froward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nico's Bistro and Bar also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing