We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cakes, great coffee and lovely bespoke items”
Review of Pottery Bunkhouse

Pottery Bunkhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pottery Bunkhouse
Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous cakes, great coffee and lovely bespoke items”
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

We were staying locally and visited a number of times to taste the great cakes. Coffee and Queen Margaret(?) were our favourites followed closely by chocolate, lemon drizzle and apple sauce cake! Best of all, decent coffee was served. If that was not enough, the shop had some great one off fantastic finds, lovely knitwear and original one off items. Can't wait to visit when the new glass and timber extension is built which will offer evening meals for groups staying in the bunkhouse. Only problem is that we couldn't find it easily on Trip Advisor to leave this comment!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rural-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    6
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I recently enjoyed a weekend in this bunkhouse, and I probably would stay again. It is in a superb location. The bunkhouse was everything I would expect from a bunkhouse, practical not luxury. I did however stumble across a few issues during my stay
- the owner seemed to have some confusion over our booking and phoned whilst we were en route to check our booking and whether or not we'd paid, which was slighlty worrying as we had paid and she seemed to think we were staying one night not two. I nderstand sometimes mixs ups happen, but looking at other reviews i wonder if this isn't the first time.
- there were combination locks on the bedroom doors, but we were never shown how to use them or were unable to find any instructions, therefore our bedroom was unlocked, thankfully the other party in the bunkhouse at the time seemed trustworthy.
- there was mouldy food in the fridge, both parties in the bunkhouse had arrived at the same time and neither of us had been there long enough to produce food with this amount of mould.
-a pet hate of mine, handwritten notes stuck up all over the bunkhouse reminding to turn off lights and taps and take off muddy shoes

On a brighter note, the bunkhouse does have a superbly equipped kitchen with a lovely large gas stove and three fridges, so plenty room to store food and a comfortable communal area. I liked that all the beds in the room we were staying in had individual bed side lamps.

I had a good weekend, but the stay could have been improved with a simple welcome book which listed the rules of the bunkhouse, rather than constantly reading post it notes, and instructions on use of facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Webbo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Attracted by the beautiful enticing sign, a friend and I stopped by to a very welcoming cafe.
Sandwiches, cake and coffee were had followed by a browse around the craft and clothing fare on offer. Delicious home made chocolate cake is a must if you visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Some friends and I rented an 8-bed dorm in the Pottery Bunkhouse to explore the area for the weekend. We found it basic, but comfortable and well-equipped, with a good size kitchen and communal area, adequate bunk-beds and shower facilities. A bonus was the cafe attached, which has good coffee and cake, and a hotel a short walk away, which was good for an evening meal. The bunkhouse price per person was excellent and the owner was helpful but left us to get on with it, which we appreciated.

Overall I'd heartily recommend this place if you're looking for good value budget accomodation for a group or a family, in a beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adelemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdonian in Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately) didnt get a chance to stay in the bunkhouse due to the rude owners completely ignoring my emails and phonecalls requesting accomodation availability. If this is how they run their business then they must be extremely arrogant to think that they can ignore potential custom during what I would regard as a quiet time of year . Myself and 3 friends have since booked 2 nights in a hostel nearby who were more than happy to take our business.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thisisnorthscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

The bunkhouse is a brand new purpose built structure, which is perfectly suited to groups, although the kitchen is slighly small for more than 20 people. A single sink & one 6 ring cooker could be improved upon. Rooms are warm and comfortable and the drying room and showers were excellent. On some previous Scottish winter meets it was 'de rigueur' to miss an evening wash or shower, whatever the consequences, but there's no excuse here! Lynda, the owner, is attentive in a 'school teacherish' sort of way and very helpful, especially when I left one of my climbing ropes behind! The nearby hotel is pleasant if you want a bar and a game of pool. The village shop is a little further afield but is absolutely amazing. What they cram in such a small space is unbelievable. They even have a good used book shop. In the locality is Wolf Trax, a superb mountain biking centre (2 miles) with superb red & blue runs - highly recommended. The bunkhouse is the nearest one to Creag Meagaidh, a winter playground for us climbers and close to both Cairngorm or The Ben, depending on where the conditions are best. The Dalwhinny distillery tour is pretty good too if conditions are poor, which, being Scotland, they will be on some days!

  • Liked — quality & location
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turnertactics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Highland Backpackers Inverness
0.0 mi away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#16 of 45 in Inverness
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Pod Heaven
Camping Pod Heaven
#2 of 4 in Abriachan
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inverness Hostel
Inverness Hostel
#39 of 45 in Inverness
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.0 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pottery Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pottery Bunkhouse

Property: Pottery Bunkhouse
Address: Laggan Bridge | Inverness-shire, Inverness PH20 1BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Inverness
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pottery Bunkhouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing