We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, Obnoxious Proprietor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royston Guest House
Ranked #57 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked this Inn through a booking site which allows an American Express card to reserve the room. About an hour after booking, we arrived and the first thing he said was "we don't take American Express"! We told him we had another card, but he kept making rude statements and seemed extremely angry and agitated with us. There was no greeting, no welcome, nothing pleasant at all. We gave him our Visa card and went up to the room, which was small, dingy, and cheap - nothing like the website depicted. We immediately went back to ask for a refund but he refused. He said we would need a five day notice for a cancellation, when he knew we had booked the room only an hour before! We have contacted our credit card company to refute the charge of 90 pounds, ($144 USD). I'm not sure how this guy stays in business!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tigerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We enjoyed having you here at Royston guest inverness and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope you will return again in the near future Kind Regards Ross .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this pretty guesthouse in August 2011. We were amazed at how instantly we felt at home when we entered... Right from our first interaction with the ever so friendly and hospitable owner Ross to the beautiful and cozy rooms to the quaintly decorated living room and lounge area, the close proximity to the town area and the perfectly packed breakfast (considering we had to check out very early in the morning and had to miss the buffet breakfast)..everything was fabulous!!!

Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for the perfect, cozy, clean and comfortable home to live in during your Inverness holiday...

5/5!!!!

Kudos to Ross!!! Wish you all the best..:-))

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanitaviegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Many thanks for leaving your review on Royston guest house Inverness we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had a great stay at the Royston, clean room, fresh towels, great breakfast. A very friendly welcome when we got there, and we were able to come and go as we pleased. Only 10mins walk to City Centre. I would definately recommend this guest house. We will definately be back. Thanks Ross for having us.

Mrs H

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Many thanks for leaving a review on Royston guest house Inverness we are glad you enjoyed your stay and also the breakfast and black pudding , hope to see you again in the winter.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This must be the BEST bed and breakfast in Scotland!!! We were given a warm welcome on arrival by Ross the owner. We could come and go when we wanted which was great as we were there for a family party!!! I was in a twin room with my daughter and mey nephew and his wife were in a double, tea and coffee in room and iron ( which is esential for me!!) with ironing board outside on the landing. Breakfast was a full buffet with a great choice and a scottish breakfast which is to die for and if you love black pudding this is the best and it is not from Stornaway !!!! Yum. I would recommend this to anyone wether you are solo, backpacking, couples I will be staying there every time I am in Inverness Thanks Ross we'll all be back(soon!)

Room Tip: Choose the twin as there is a double and single bed in the room we were in. Also loads of info avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thanks you for leaving your comments on Royston guest house Inverness
We are pleased you enjoy your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We received a very warm welcome from our generous host Ross who could not be more accommodating if he tried. we were made to feel at home. The room was very comfortable with new furniture. Very clean, to the standard one might expect from five star accommodation. Breakfast...what can we say? Spoilt for choice. Range of lovely fresh fruit, cereals and juices and a variety of croissants and pastries. The full Scottish breakfast was of the highest quality ...with lovely free range eggs cooked to perfection. Ross went out of his way to make our stay one that we will remember for many years to come. We hope to return soon. Thank you to the very special friend who recommended that we stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 177Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Many thanks for leavening a review on Royston guest house Inverness
We appreciate your comment
Thanks and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Although the rooms are a bit small, everything else about this Bed and Breakfast is excellent. The staff is welcoming and helpful, the food is perfectly cooked to order, and the rooms are cleaned to perfection. The friendly atmosphere gives you the feeling that you are home with family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Many thanks for leavening your review on Royston guest house Inverness we appreciate your comments .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We found the host very accomodating and the food was fine too. Our room had a nice view and the sheets, etc. were clean. The room did seem to need more dusting--the baseboards were very dusty (I'm sensitive so I just dusted them myself). The price was high (I know Inverness is expensive), but for this place's out-of-the way location it still seemed a bit high. If a professional service were invited in, say once a month, to give the place a going-over that might work (they are trained to spot things that the average homeowner [such as myself] soon ceases to notice).

Room Tip: Our front-facing room was surprisingly quiet even though it was across from the highway and the rail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblersOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Many thanks for leaving a review at Royston guest house Inverness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.7 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
0.3 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#2 of 232 in Inverness
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#22 of 232 in Inverness
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caberfeidh B&B
Caberfeidh B&B
#73 of 232 in Inverness
47 reviews
8.8 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royston Guest House

Address: 16 Millburn Road, Inverness IV2 3PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £82 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royston Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royston guest house accommodation in Inverness is a quality bed and breakfast in the centre of Inverness. The guest house has 8 en-suite bedrooms, private parking, free wi fi, sky tv, setanta sports in the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royston Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing