We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royston Guest House
Ranked #77 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Typical B&B but clean, comfortable and breakfast was good. Great location as able to walk into town but only £6 taxi from other side of the river on Friday night. Would recommend it and would stay again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for leaving your kind review for Royston guest house inverness we are happy you enjoyed your stay thanks again .
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    31
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
35
39
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for three nights at the end of a wonderful tour of Shetland, Lewis, Harris and Skye. There was some kind of mixup with the dates of our arrival, but Ross was able to accommodate us despite a very busy season with the Scotland Homecoming year. And, he arranged it so that we would not have to switch rooms after one night. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. We came to really appreciate our host, Ross. He was helpful and has quite a sense of humor. At first, I wanted to be down town -- but the location of the Royston was ideal. Only a 10 minute walk to the city center. One evening, Ross gave us a voucher for wine at The Mustard Seed (our favorite restaurant in Inverness). Off street parking. Nice breakfast. Do check the breakfast schedule (it is later on the weekends and we are grateful that we could be accommodated when we had to head to the airport early on Saturday). Clean and quiet place. Lovely artwork on the walls and comfortable sitting room and dining room. If I'm back in Inverness, I'll be staying here, again. Thanks, much, Ross. Cornelia and I really enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeBonVoyage58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks for leaving your kind review on Royston guest house inverness we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed for seven days in June and had such a wonderful time. The host Ross is such a warm and welcoming person, he makes you feel at home. We were introduced to a full Scottish breakfast with haggis and black pudding which I'm sorry to say we did not partake off (not)...lol...but everything else was absolutely delicious. The Royston is in a very good area and about 10 minutes walk from the city centre. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff very helpful. I would definitely stay there again and certainly would recommend the Royston Guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind review , it was nice to meet you both and hope you enjoy the rest of your holidays.
thanks
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

One night stay whilst touring the highlands on our bikes. The Royston is about 10 mins walk from the centre of the city and we had an excellent nights sleep. Good breakfast. The host was helpful and friendly. Would stay again on our next tour

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bonniebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Many thanks for leaving your kind review on Royston guest house inverness
we a happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I decided to take a few days out our hectic work schedules and head north for some us time and relaxation. How delighted are we that we took a friends recommendation to stay at the Royston guest house!
The Royston is a beautiful traditional house sitting just as you come into Inverness from the Aberdeen side and was very easy to find.
The decor when first walking into the hall was charming, inviting and had a real feel of the Highlands with grand paintings, tartan wallpaper and antique furniture, its very homely.
Our room itself was modern and tastefully decorated with the most comfortable bed we'd ever stayed in!
If it wasn't for getting up for breakfast we would have happily stayed in bed a lot longer but with a struggle we dragged ourselves up and made our way to the dining room, we were not disappointed!
The choice for breakfast was endless!! Lots of cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, every type of tea you could imagine, the list goes on and of course a full Scottish breakfast to set us up for the day. We were absolutely stuffed.
We had the most fantastic few days in Inverness with big thanks to our stay at the Royston, it was just what we needed.
To top it all, our host Ross could not have been more welcoming and helpful, a true gent. Thank you Ross for everything!
Exceptional value for money with everything you could possibly hope for. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NatalieW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Many thanks for leaving your kind review on Royston guest house inverness we appreciate your feed back and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poissy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed three days in Royston guest house which is a charming and confortable guest house ,but I have to complaint on the price which is too high . I was a single person Inside a group and I payed the same price as couples although breakfasts were included .I always have seen in others hôtels that if you are a single you only pay an extra charge .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Sorry to hear you were not happy with the price you were a single person who booked a double room , that is our price you new this before you stayed, other people also booked family rooms that were price for 3 people we sell our rooms at room prices not per person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

from the moment we arrived until we left 4days later the experience of staying at the ROYSTON Guest House was wonderful. Mine host Ross went out of his way to make us welcome and all our needs were catered for. The room was spotless as was all the guest areas, wonderful food and a very comfy bed (just like home). We have stayed in the best of hotels but the ROYSTON represented the best value for money we have encountered. Keep up the good work Ross. John and Jean Mackay North Kessock.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Many thanks for leaving your kind review on Royston guest house inverness we are happy that you enjoyed you're stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Trafford Bank Guest House
Trafford Bank Guest House
#20 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#6 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rossmount Guest House
Rossmount Guest House
#13 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mardon Guest House
Mardon Guest House
#57 of 229 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
#116 of 229 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royston Guest House

Property: Royston Guest House
Address: 16 Millburn Road, Inverness IV2 3PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royston Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royston guest house accommodation in Inverness is a quality bed and breakfast in the centre of Inverness. The guest house has 8 en-suite bedrooms, private parking, free wi fi, sky tv, setanta sports in the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royston Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing