We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality second to none”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rossmount Guest House
Ranked #13 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hospitality second to none”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great hosts and rooms & breakfasts to match. When the taxi dropped us off we thought we were way out of town - we were wrong as the town centre and castle & river were all a short walk away. The en-suite room had everything you could want (inc wifi) - if you're on the large side perhaps you'd be advised to ask for a room with a big bathroom. I've given the "value" a 4 but Inverness is an expensive place to stay so for an Inverness b&b it could be a 5.

Room Tip: Ask for a big bathroom if you're on the large side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    41
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
142
65
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We ended up staying one night at Rossmount because we had decided to come to Inverness a day earl and the other (4-star) B and B we had booked did not have availability for the extra night. After staying one night at Rossmount and then moving to our next B and B, we found ourselves wishing for the next two days that we could have stayed with Ruth and Robert at Rossmount! The rooms, facilities and breakfast are just lovely and they have thought of everything you could possibly need or want. But the real treat about this place are the owners. We were treated with such warmth and hospitality, it felt like we were with family. They went out of their way to make us welcome, in ways that we would never expect. We can't wait to come back to Scotland someday and stay here again, and would highly recommend this guest house to anyone!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms were great with a lovely garden view, but I didn't see the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed for 3 nights.
I received a very warm welcome from Ruth and Robert, and was shown to a fairly small, but very clean and comfortable single room. Everything I needed was supplied.There was even a bowl of sweets. The large shared bathroom across the landing was first class with an excellent shower.
Breakfast was delicious and very generous. It was clear that Robert loves cooking the full Scottish breakfast for his guests, though a continental breakfast option is available along with a choice of cereals, yogurts and fresh fruit. Breakfast was served in a very smart breakfast room.
Nothing is too much trouble for these lovely hosts. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Rossmount.
I would recommend to anyone looking for a great guest house, in a great central location, at a reasonable price, to look no further.
If pushed, Robert, (Beaujolais Bob) might tell you of some his many experiences around the worlds finest vineyards, where his knowledge of fine wines is greatly respected. Look out for the wine bottle on the shelf in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Nice little place - spotlessly clean room and en suite and Rob & Ruth are helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were particularly entertaining - Rob is a breath of positive energy in the mornings and always there with an amusing comment and helpful tip with places to go and how to get there.

I do now have a lime curd habit, but that's another story ...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saesnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This second stay with Rob and Ruth was for 6 nights, as was our first visit in September 2011.
Inverness is our first choice for our Highland vacation , Rob and Ruth make us feel very welcome, Robert has never let us down with his knowledge of places to visit both locally and further afield.
Good choice for breakfast, enjoyed Ruths Full Scottish, very clean accomodation, Very comfortable room, cosy whatever the weather.
Recommend the Castle Tavern for dinner, you are also not far from the town centre, easy ten minute walk.
So, thats two trips to Rossmount, we'll be back for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidgetandMini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minard
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

I stayed here for one night - the room was really lovely, original features and very spacious. I had made a last minute booking and requested en suite - got a triple room all to myself for £40. Bed was very comfy, breakfast was just brilliant - lovely fresh fruit salad. I had a very peaceful night - seemed a pretty quiet area. I was able to park right outside on street parking that was free. Hosts were very helpful and accommodating, with a lovely wee dog Milo too :) Would have no hesitation in coming here to stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltfMinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Great place to stay in Inverness. Very close to the city centre but in a quiet location. My room was cosy and comfortable. I could open a window if needed and the bathroom was very close to my room and very clean.There were books and videos available also. The hosts Ruth and Robert are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent. Would highly recommend and would stay here again. Many thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#10 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
9.5 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossmount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmount Guest House

Property: Rossmount Guest House
Address: 32 Argyle Street, Inverness IV2 3BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rossmount Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossmount is a Victorian stone built townhouse dating from 1870. The house has been recently, sympathetically, refurbished to a high standard by new owners, Robert & Ruth, and retains a wealth of original features.Conveniently situated in the quiet, residential Crown area of Inverness a 5 minute walk from the town centre shops & restaurants, Inverness castle , Eden Court Theatre & both train & bus stations, Rossmount is an ideal base for exploring the Scottish Highlands . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rossmount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossmount Guest House Hotel Inverness
Rossmount Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing