We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Place You Should Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rossmount Guest House
Ranked #13 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Place You Should Stay!”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Sometimes you don't know if all the reviews are true, but this turned out to be a great place. From the courtesy car pick up at the train station (or airport) to the lovely room, great breakfast, and super friendly hosts, this was a fabulous B&B. Also it's perfect if you need to be close (5 min. walking distance) to the city center b/c you don't have a car. It's also close to Hootananny's Pub that had great live music.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayholic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    41
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
143
67
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Hosts were friendly, informative and helpful. Rooms were clean, tidy and the breakfasts were excellent. All yo would ned in a gusst house.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank western1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My husband and I went to Inverness to compete in the Highland Games World Championships and Robert and Ruth took such wonderful care of us. I would like to think when they found out I was as athlete the spoiled me but they take care of all of the guests the same. The rooms are fantastic and large, and this comes from two people over 6' tall. Big breakfast will all you can eat and more made to order by Ruth and served with a smile and some bad jokes by Robert. My husband and I are already planning our next trip back to Rossmount...oh and the Highland Games too. 5 stars and more a really wonderful place to stay and we have stayed in B & B's all over the world and this is by far the best!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatcat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Clean and nice atmosphere. Excellent breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit and healthy options, as well as the traditional cooked. Service was friendly and owner drove us to the station. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneylady49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We've been in Inverness at Rossmount Guest House for 3 nights.

At very first, Robert came to get us at the train station so we wouldn't have to manage with our luggage.

Robert and Ruth, our hosts, were always there to help or advise us about things to do, places to eat, etc. We simply felt at home in this bed and breakfast, though Robert and Ruth never were intrusive: they knew how to draw the line between kindness and privacy.

The room was perfectly sized with comfortable and VERY CLEAN beds!! The en-suite bathroom was sparkling clean. A tea / coffee / herbal tea / cookies tray was refurbished every day in our room and was greatly appreciated after a long travelling day. The room in overall was decorated with taste, comfortable and simply perfect.

Breakfast was served in the common dinning room: besides the full Scottish breakfast (haggis, eggs, sausages, tomatoes, bacon... Yummy!) and the continental (bread rolls, muffins, etc.), there was an exhaustive selection of yoghurts, fruits, juices and cereals. Robert served our breakfast with humour and a splendid morning smile.

In overall, Rossmount is THE perfect place to stay in Inverness: it is a five minutes walk to Inverness Castle, River Ness and train station, bus stop, etc. Everything is near to this lovely place which we will surely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We feel so fortunate to have experienced Ruth and Robert's hospitality! Staying at the Rossmount was like visiting family. They were most accommodating, friendly, warm and funny. When we realized that bus service was limited to one of our more remote destinations, they drove us out there and even picked us up after! Breakfast was amazing and our vegetarian diets were catered to very well. The room was gorgeous, spacious and extremely clean. We would recommend Rossmount above all others when coming to beautiful Inverness.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Smeegle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Hosts Robert and Ruth provide great hospitality and sense of humor.
Highly recommend. Great location, very quiet neighborhood, and very short walk to city center.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rmencher2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
9.5 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossmount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmount Guest House

Property: Rossmount Guest House
Address: 32 Argyle Street, Inverness IV2 3BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rossmount Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossmount is a Victorian stone built townhouse dating from 1870. The house has been recently, sympathetically, refurbished to a high standard by new owners, Robert & Ruth, and retains a wealth of original features.Conveniently situated in the quiet, residential Crown area of Inverness a 5 minute walk from the town centre shops & restaurants, Inverness castle , Eden Court Theatre & both train & bus stations, Rossmount is an ideal base for exploring the Scottish Highlands . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Rossmount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossmount Guest House Hotel Inverness
Rossmount Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing