We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”
Review of Kinkell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinkell House
Ranked #192 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2011

As a 18th century property it was full of character, but the decor is a little tired.
Having to choose your breakfast the previous evening is not ideal. As I wanted a light breakfast only - I chose a poached egg. Which arrived all alone on a big plate - presentation/imagination was lacking

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francis_o_brien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

Nice old stone home but the decore is a bit tired. Clean rooms but in the centre of our room the floorboard was broken, under the carpet & squeaked every time you stood on it. Bathroom & shower small but plenty of hot water - ours was an ensuite. The walls were a bit thin & you could hear other guests but this wasn't a major problem. Friendly hosts who were helpful in answering our questions about the area & offering advice. We had a car so was easy to get around. Usual breakfast, cereal or porridge & choice of hot food. Close to walk to town centre - we had a nice meal at a pub called The Room. Good parking. Free Wi Fi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharpeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The outside appears to be a charming but looks can be deceiving. You can tell this was once a nice well taken care of place but now it is showing its age with no maintenance.

Mold, wall paper peeling, old beds, absolutely NO water pressure, old linens. Our bathroom was down the hall and was to be used only by us. However, it was not clean. There was hair in the shower and around the toilet. <gross> The pictures on the website is from earlier days. The owners are not young and I would guess maybe close to retiring and not wanting to sink more money into the place.

Awards won are back from the 90's. Not extremely friendly host. Seemed put out to answer questions and quickly disappear. The place is quiet and walking distance to a local pub. The bed was terrible. The tv was 6 inches, no cable in rooms. TV was fuzzy and three or four channels. Said in room wifi.

Had to go to common room to get wifi to work and cable was set up on that tv. Food was warm and good but not service friendly. There are stuffed dead animals (quite in need of dusting) everywhere. Overall, this place is a pass. Needs quite a bit of maintenance. Best thing was the pub down the street.

After almost 4 weeks of traveling across the UK. There are only two places we would not recommend. This is one of them.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeanandMelania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My first reaction was it looked a lovely old house. We were shown to our room and then our host disappeared very quickly without asking if it was okay. The room was very dated with worn carpet and dark wallpaper. Tiles near the sink were coming off and the furniture was cheap flat pack. The mirror had no sockets near, the telly had an insde arial and a rubbish picture. The en suite bathroom turned out to be across the landing and only we used it. It was clean but the shower had very poor water pressure and the toilet did not flush very well. The breakfast was okay but the girl who served it had no chat at all. On the plus side it was very handy for the town centre. I would not rush back as my own house is in better decorative order than this guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliRally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This house provides the travellers with the basics of a place to stay : cleaned and comfortable rooms, free parking, staff welcoming, close access to the city center.
Some of the rooms do not have their bathroom included, you'll have to go out in the corridor to access your private bathroom, which can be a little bit annoying.
Breakfast was really good, even if the salty food was not as well cooked as other guest houses we know.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al-Granadino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We've been in Kinkel House this weekend and we've had a great time. The location is excellent, very close to the river and the centre (nice if you don't have a car, it's easy to go out for dinner in front of the river). Also, it is close to the bus and train stations, so it is easy to take buses for tours.The owners have been very nice, attentive and helpful with us, and they were not impassive at all. The decoration is very cozy, the room and bathroom very clean, they have WiFI, it was everything we were looking for. I will strongly recommend this guest house to a friend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Large bedroom, very small bathroom.
Breakfast hardly enjoyable - little friendly employee.
Impassive owners.
Situated side by side with Inverness prison.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip_round_GB_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
293 reviews
7.0 mi away
Achnagairn Estate
Achnagairn Estate
#2 of 3 in Kirkhill
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinkell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinkell House

Address: 11 Old Edinburgh Road, Inverness IV2 3HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinkell House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Kinkell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinkell House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing