We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle View Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb hospitality”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay and the hospitality was excellent. The early morning breakfast was good with the view of the castle in front.
Made a friend with the little dog smiya in the guest house. A cute little pie :)
Would recommend to come and enjoy the stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NityaMohanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
82
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We've stayed here a few times while visiting friends in Inverness and felt that it was time to share our thoughts and experiences of Castle View Guesthouse. John, the proprietor, has always been an excellent host, making us feel very welcome in his comfortable surroundings. The rooms are spacious, spotless and very well presented. John provides a range of tasty cooked and continental breakfasts, using locally sourced foods. Breakfast is served in the dining room which offers fantastic views across the River Ness to the castle. Castle View is conveniently placed for the many attractions in the city. Both train and bus stations are a 10 minute walk away, and Eden Court Theatre is even closer. We would never think of staying anywhere else when visiting this area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Happy with our choice for this guesthouse. Both the manager and her daughter were very friendly and we couldn't have asked for better hosts. The bed was excellent, the view amazing, and breakfast was simple but very good. Just been here for a night, but would recommend it to everybody! Our trip was with friends, as a couple it would have been even better suited.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor is good for both breakfast, showers and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston super mare
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Spent 5 very comfy warm and friendly days at this guesthouse. Room was spotless, had fantastic view of castle. Nicely furnished, room 3, wonderful choice of breakfast menu. Owner John very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Go for room 3 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rac1959W650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived in Inverness by car and went searching a B&B. Our first accommodation we checked was the Castle View Guesthouse right in front of the Castle. Our lovely Host John offered us a nice and not expensive 4-bed-room at topfloor. A very delicious scottish breakfast included!

We enjoyed our stay and I can highly recommend the Castle View Guesthouse.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianHaener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My daughter and I travelled to Inverness mainly to visit Fort George as my Grandpa had served in the Cameron Highlanders during the first world war. We wanted to stay somewhere near the castle at a reasonable cost and found Castle View. John was a very attentive host and nothing was too much trouble for him. The choices at breakfast were very good.
We had room 4 which was clean with an ensuite bathroom although did not have a view of the castle but that didn't detract as we were out most of the day anyway !!
Would definitely stay again if we return to Inverness

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. Its clean, quiet, excellent location and reasonable price. Mr. John Munro, the owner is an excellent host, who will attend to your needs in every possible ways. I feel rather fortunate seeing this beautiful Inverness and staying in this lovely place. Love to come back again.

Room Tip: Its a popular place and its often full, book the room as early as possible. Rooms face the castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WPFTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
0.2 mi away
Ardconnel House B&B
Ardconnel House B&B
#7 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Guesthouse

Property: Castle View Guesthouse
Address: 2A Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle View Guest House is located in a vibrant, cosmopolitan yet quiet location directly opposite the historic Inverness Castle on the banks of the River Ness. In an ideal central location the recently upgraded 19th Century Victorian Guest House is a perfect base for exploring the stunning Scottish Highland scenery, whisky trails and distilleries. Canoeing, kayaking, cycling, hill walking, fishing, museums, castles, distilleries, Eden Court Theatre and Loch Ness boat trips are some of the many easy accessible attractions. An excellent selection of alternative dining options, wine bars, and traditional Scottish pubs, many with live Scottish music are all within close proximity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle View Guesthouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing