We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent centre of town Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle View Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent centre of town Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very friendly & helpful. The owner Eleanor couldn't have done more for us. She was really helpful in looking up details of places we wanted to get to, & making an appointment at the local medical centre when my wife needed treatment. Our room was large, very comfortable, spotless & had all the usual facilities. There was an excellent & comprehensive Breakfast from 08.30 buffet style with eggs cooked to order. This Guest House is situated right in the centre of town at the end of the main bridge, over looking the Castle across the Ness.
The only negative was no off street parking; but you are in the centre of town & there is a reasonably priced car park (Cathedral car park) 5 min. walk away. It's free to park there from 18.00 to 08.00. There is drop off / pick up space in front of the premises; & there seems to be a much more relaxed attitude to this than in large UK cites. At least 2 flights of stairs will be involved in reaching your room. Over all we thoroughly recommend Castle View Guest House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soundsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
77
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I recently stayed at this B & B in Inverness. I chose it because of it's fantastic central location (just 1 minutes walk from both Eden Court and Town Centre). The landlady, Elanor is a lovely host - so welcoming and attentive. I got a loan of an iron and she was always making sure that my stay was comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning was a delight. When I came down at 8:30am the hot plate was on and freshly cooked breakfast was waiting for me. (The sausages are brilliant).
I will definitely be staying here if I need another overnight stop in Inverness.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

From the moment I arrived I knew this was going to be a wonderful place to stay. The landlady was friendly, cheerful and very helpful.
The room was large, bed was comfortable with a great view of the river and castle.
Close to the city centre and all amenities.
Breakfast was ample and delicious (even if the plates were too small, but that's just me I guess).
I highly recommend the Castle View for anyone who visits Inverness.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teraglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I visited the Castle View B&B after completing charity fund raising endeavour around Loch Ness, with a friend. The premises has been newly acquired and is now under new management. A new broom sweeps clean and that is exactly what has been accomplished. The bedrooms are clean an bright and well serviced, comprising a small flat screen television, tea and coffee making facilities and and the dining room is spacious and airy with a beatiful view of the river and Inverness Castle. From porridge, fresh fruit, a complete range of cereals and breads to a full english breakfast their is certainly enough to sustain even the hardiest of appetites. The proprietor is very friendly, informative and most helpful ! If you are looking for a place to stay in Inverness, I would seriously advise you to try the Castle View I can assure you for the price you will be surprised and pleased !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Thanks alot for a wonderful hospitality.

The place is spot on neat and clean with superb hospitality and excellent breakfast. Owner is very friendly and helpful. As the name suggests, it gives the best view of the castle from window.
It is one of the best place for stay!

Cheers!
Vinay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay and the hospitality was excellent. The early morning breakfast was good with the view of the castle in front.
Made a friend with the little dog smiya in the guest house. A cute little pie :)
Would recommend to come and enjoy the stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NityaMohanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We've stayed here a few times while visiting friends in Inverness and felt that it was time to share our thoughts and experiences of Castle View Guesthouse. John, the proprietor, has always been an excellent host, making us feel very welcome in his comfortable surroundings. The rooms are spacious, spotless and very well presented. John provides a range of tasty cooked and continental breakfasts, using locally sourced foods. Breakfast is served in the dining room which offers fantastic views across the River Ness to the castle. Castle View is conveniently placed for the many attractions in the city. Both train and bus stations are a 10 minute walk away, and Eden Court Theatre is even closer. We would never think of staying anywhere else when visiting this area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
0.2 mi away
Ardconnel House B&B
Ardconnel House B&B
#8 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Guesthouse

Property: Castle View Guesthouse
Address: 2A Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle View Guest House is located in a vibrant, cosmopolitan yet quiet location directly opposite the historic Inverness Castle on the banks of the River Ness. In an ideal central location the recently upgraded 19th Century Victorian Guest House is a perfect base for exploring the stunning Scottish Highland scenery, whisky trails and distilleries. Canoeing, kayaking, cycling, hill walking, fishing, museums, castles, distilleries, Eden Court Theatre and Loch Ness boat trips are some of the many easy accessible attractions. An excellent selection of alternative dining options, wine bars, and traditional Scottish pubs, many with live Scottish music are all within close proximity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle View Guesthouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing