We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Oakwood Restaurant

Oakwood Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 258 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Oakwood Restaurant is just 3 miles from Inverness on the Main A82 travelling towards Loch Ness, road side.Serving award winning Scottish food, Venison, Orkney Island Gold Beef, Hand dived scallops & Langoustine, along with chicken, lamb & a good vegetarian and vegan choices.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our friends told us about the Oakwood but it has taken us a long time to get round to going there and we really regret that. The food is superb and I just love the homely feel to the place. You will be our new regular!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Highlandgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    99
    13
    13
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth the effort”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We read the reviews and decided to give the Oakwood a go as we were looking for something authentic and homely. It was really lovely. The surroundings are quaint and very informal and the food is excellent with a home cooked feel. You have to remember to take a bottle of wine with you as they don't serve alcohol but they provide the glasses and don't charge corkage. "Gus" the waiter (who I suspect is the owner) is a hoot with a very dry sense of humour. The seafood is "to die for". This isn't the cheapest restaurant we have eaten in but nor was it expensive. It was worth paying a few pennies more for the quality of the food and the bottle of supermarket priced wine more than compensated.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thewanderer351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Real Highland Expeerience”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I've lived in Ross-Shire for many years but I have just discovered The Oakwood. The mood is very relaxed and 'Highland' and the food is amazing. The proprietor, Gus, is quite a character - full of stories and good craic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

What a fantastic place to eat. The food is superb and the owner has an amazing sense of humour. His knowledge of the area, which he was happy to share with us, was invaluable. The menu was extensive and we both had three course meals including fresh scallops and the best steak I have ever tasted. It is bring your own bottle and they don't charge corkage. The total bill was just on £50 which we thought was incredible value. I notice some people complaining about the fact they don't serve just a cup of tea but that is because they are a restaurant and they have a big sign saying sorry they can't do teas. When we were in two cyclists arrived almost demanding a cup of tea. Come on folks, if you want a BMW you don't go to a Vauxhall garage!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a four day break in the highlands and on the third day decided to go to Loch Ness,while we where there came across the oakwood restaurant ,when we entered the restaurant there was only one other couple having a meal. It is a quirky little restaurant/gift shop - not for you if you are after luxurious surroundings - however we found it to be charming. The food was the best we had during our stay, full of flavour and delicious, the portions were generous and the dessert big enough to share. No alcohol is served here which is something to bear in mind before visiting. All in all well worth a visit if you want some decent home-cooked food!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trinmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oakwood Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Oakwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing