We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed”
Review of Oakwood Restaurant

Oakwood Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 282 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Oakwood Restaurant is just 3 miles from Inverness on the Main A82 travelling towards Loch Ness, road side.Serving award winning Scottish food, Venison, Orkney Island Gold Beef, Hand dived scallops & Langoustine, along with chicken, lamb & a good vegetarian and vegan choices.
Reviewed 10 November 2018

Me and my wife stopped here for lunch, looking for a light bite to eat and after looking at the menu, ordered 2 soups and were told there is only one portion left. I opted for the bacon sandwich with ascratch of butter and recieved a doorstop of bread laden in butter with uncooked bacon. My wifes soup was tasty if porridge like in consistency, and when i produced my bank card to pay for my £9 bill, the man proceeded to tell me that it wasnt convinient for him to take a card payment for a bill so small, and proceeded to tell us how much it costs him to rent the machime. There is no sign to say card payments over a certain price only, and i found this innapropriate, as its 2018, most people paay with card. Pretty dissapointed, wont be back

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Getaway63741898825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood01, Owner at Oakwood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello 'Gateway' to where? We do indeed recall your visit. At this time of year we are more able to interact, get to know you, the thing of course we love to do. So sorry on this occasion we were unable to meet your needs, we do not do chips... full stop... Your wife was just so lovely and seemed to want to stay anyway... she was the one who had the soup, and we do say 'thick' pea & ham soup'. We would love to have your return with less numbers after the gate- way opens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2018

We were driving in Inverness and it was too early for dinner. Our hotel was south so we headed down by Lochness. On the way we saw the Oakwood Restaurant. We were accepted without reservations, which I would recommend. It is a ma and pa place. The husband is in the front and the wife is cooking in the back. It was tremendous. The place filled and there is only one seating. One of the best meals in Scotland. Do not miss this place. It is small, call for reservations, we were lucky. Also it does not serve alcohol. Bring your own.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StanleyJ182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood01, Manager at Oakwood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you so much for such a sweet referral to us. Very pleased you enjoyed what you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Amazed at the reviews as this seemed like home cooking which hadn’t turned out as planned. Maybe we made poor choices but the chicken stroganoff was sweet and sickly and the Thai chicken tasted as if the pan had burnt. Desserts were better but we won’t be back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank culbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood01, Owner at Oakwood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hello Culbo, sorry you didn't enjoy either of our chicken dishes - there should be no poor choices on the menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Unplanned last minute lunch stop. Modest surroundings didn't give a clue to what wonderful food was to come. Beautiful flavoured hearty chowder, melt in the mouth beef and beautiful fresh vegetables. No licence but no corkage either.
A fantastic hidden gem. If I lived closer I'd go often.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ralphb531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood01, Owner at Oakwood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you so much Ralph - so very pleased to we hit the right notes with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

The staff here are very friendly and the food is just superb. When we have visitors we make sure to include a visit to the Oakwood. Nice wee gift shop attached as well.
If planning on going at night is advisable to book as the restaurant has a limited capacity, which makes for a lovely atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank delman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood01, Owner at Oakwood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you delman47, very much appreciate your time in writing a review, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oakwood Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Oakwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing