We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect end to the Great Glen Way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craigside Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #32 of 247 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect end to the Great Glen Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night after walking the Great Glen Way. The guesthouse is on a quiet street near the castle and is a beautiful, well maintained house. The hosts, Amy and Ewan, were very friendly and helpful. The room was large and spotless, with excellent en suite facilities. The dining room and sun lounge were bright and comfortable and the food very good. We would be happy to recommend this guesthoouse to everyone

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    37
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
115
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed with our friends in this B&B and found it a convenient place to stay for getting around the city, easy to walk to shops etc, and the establishment itself is well set up, no disapointments with the rooms (ours looked over to the castle) and the breakfasts were great. The only downside to spoil our stay was that after we had left we got an email saying we hadn't paid (which we had, in cash, on arrival but Amy forgot) and the apology we got when pointing out that we had paid was somewhat lukewarm, so a rather unfortunate experience

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We were in room 1 with a great view over the castle and city. The location is good, easy to walk everywhere. The google map directipns led us astray, you might want to ask them for directions in. Breakfast was OK, room set up OK, overall a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Elm, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Amy & Ewan were so lovely to 3 retired teachers travelling to Inverness for the very first time. We loved our rooms, so very modern & clean. The breakfast room and sunroom were so light and cheery. We felt very cared for and looked after. They both were so helpful in directing us around town and around the area. Would gladly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Three retired educators were treated like family by Amy and Ewan and we delighted in the smiles from their lovely son, Alex. Criagside is in a perfect location to get around Inverness and not only convenient, but BEAUTIFUL. You can see Inverness Castle and the river out of several places in the house and there was a stunning view from one room that my friend stayed in. The breakfast was perfect in a lovely breakfast room and there is a lovely sunroom where you can read if you have any downtime. Amy and Ewan were so helpful and kind, it really was like staying with family. I would recomment Craigside Lodge to anyone staying in Inverness.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at Craigside Lodge for a total of 5 nights,coming and going to the Orkneys and couldn't have been more pleased with the location,comfort ,breakfast and the warmth and friendliness of the hosts. Amy and Euan were gracious and always willing to help, making excellent suggestions and dinner reservations.Amy went above and beyond,locating jewelry which I had left behind and mailing it on to me in Edinburgh. Thankyou Amy! We hope to return to the Highlands and Craigside soon.

Room Tip: The castle view room was a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
509 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Craigside Lodge is a family home with four rooms for B&B guests. It is located in the B&B district of Inverness near the castle. It is run by a nice young couple who somehow mesh family life with hospitality provision.

The rooms at Craigside are of reasonable size with en suite bathrooms. The bed is comfortable and there is enough space to sit comfortably at the desk. The TV is a bit hard to work. The decor and feel of the room is pleasant. It was perfectly clean and well kept.

As is the case with many places in the area the showr power is not amazingly high but it does the job. The provision of towels and the like is just right.

Wi-fi connection is fast and effective.

Breakfast comes with a set of options to be ordered the night before including by allocating the time it will take place. The fried fare is fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Dionard Guest House
Dionard Guest House
#10 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eildon Guest House
Eildon Guest House
#21 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#9 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rossmount Guest House
Rossmount Guest House
#13 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.6 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#7 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigside Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigside Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Craigside Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 4 Gordon Terrace, Inverness IV2 3HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Craigside Lodge Guesthouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing