We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, welcoming owner.”
Review of Glasdair House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glasdair House
Ranked #36 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have stayed in this beautiful converted old house on several occasions over the last few years, most recently with our new son. We have seen several changes over this time, all for the better. The service is personal with a friendly approachable host who is helpful without being intrusive and the breakfasts are tasty with good variety. It is well located in Inverness for access to the town centre, River and Theatre, all walkable and has good parking.

We have booked in again for this year and are looking forward to our stay very much.

Room Tip: The ground floor room is great for families, and has a wet room style shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

I enjoyed my stay here - as said in a previous review, the staff are friendly but not obtrusive. The place was clean (despite the best efforts of my 15 month old son) and the room, although small, had everything we needed. It also had a decent hairdryer, which is always important for me! The shower was lovely, and the bathroom seemed newly done with nice fluffy towels.

I had the cooked breakfast, which appeared within seconds of my arriving for it. It was great. Nice selection of juice, cereals, yoghurts available as well.

I was staying for SNP Conference in the Eden Court Theatre, and it couldn't have been handier, just down the road.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowAliJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I only stayed here for one night, but found it a pleasant place to stay. My room was spotless, the bed was comfortable with crisp sheets and the breakfast was pretty much perfect. It took me a while to work out how the TV worked (some information would have been helpful) and it lacked some of the homely extra touches that could have given it 5 stars, but they did what they did very well and I would happily stay here again.

The staff weren't over friendly, but because I was travelling for work, I found them to be unobtrusive, rather than unfriendly.

Room Tip: Room 7 on the ground floor, could hear people coming down for breakfast early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

House was handsome, room was okay apart from a "wet room" style bathroom with a dribble of a shower that went from scalding to cold on a whim. Too dangerous to shower children under it. Hostess demanded to know (the night before!) if we wanted tea or coffee with our breakfast as she was fed up putting on a pot of coffee that was then wasted! My husband likes a cup of coffee with a cooked breakfast, followed by a cup of coffeee. Well, there was no way he was getting that! The breakfast was horrible - again we had to specify exactly what we wanted, down to number of rashers of bacon, the night before. Polish chef didn't know how to fry a potato scone and coffee was cool and weak as dishwater. Worst of all was the miserable welcome - we felt very much like unwanted guests.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank butterflyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marion m, Owner at Glasdair House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

I'm really sorry to read of this unpleasant experience at Glasdair House.
It was three years ago, and the house has been completely refurbished, including a new and adequate boiler which supplies sufficient and properly controlled temperature water. The wet room style shower room - which was newly installed to accommodate guests with compromised mobility, remains and is very popular also with families with small children.
The new staff are appraised and trained to give a high quality service, and all our guests currently give favourable comments for this. The menu for breakfast requirements is still offered to guests on arrival and this is to avoid waste, our staff will not demand an immediate response. There is no limit within reason to the amount of coffee or breakfast for any guest. I really do hope this guest will give us another chance to show what we can do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fortuny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandM, Owner at Glasdair House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nono N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_and_Mazz, General Manager at Glasdair House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Axel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_and_Mazz, General Manager at Glasdair House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Glasdair Bed And Breakfast
Glasdair Bed And Breakfast
#122 of 232 in Inverness
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 232 in Inverness
375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ballifeary Guest House
Ballifeary Guest House
#26 of 232 in Inverness
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heathcote Bed & Breakfast
Heathcote Bed & Breakfast
#77 of 232 in Inverness
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moyness House
Moyness House
#31 of 232 in Inverness
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#9 of 232 in Inverness
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasdair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasdair House

Address: 2 Ballifeary Road | IV35PJ, Inverness, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £79 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasdair House has seven bedrooms,which caters for people working in the area, weekend breaks,or visitors from overseas. It has an ideal location with Eden Court Theatre on its doorstep, Aquadome 10mins walk and the city centre just over the main bridge. Single, twin, double & family rooms availabe. All rooms have en-suite, T&C facilities, TV & DVD players in all rooms.You will receive a warm welcome and a relaxed atmosphere during your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glasdair House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasdair House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing