We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best B+B for a long time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandwood Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandwood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #64 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Gairloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best B+B for a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We could not have wished for a better stay! Superb service, perfectly clean, great breakfast. Location is, no problems with accessing the city ideal We have paid a lot more for a lot less. Certainly to be reccomended, The fresh milk was an added bonus. The bed was large and comfortable, just right for a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Have just returned from a three night stay in Inverness and the first time staying at Sandwood - it certainly won't be the last. The location is ideal - the Crown is such a good area, town parking at no cost - great, because you can walk to so many places from there, you won't need to use the car a lot. The accommodation is immaculate with all the facilities we have come to expect from good quality B&Bs and the Super King Bed was just wonderful. The Patio doors out on to the private decking - ideal - and, as it is in a very safe and peaceful location too, great to open and cool the warm summer nights. Alexis and Callum and great hosts without being intrusive and the breakfasts were just lovely and with a great choice. Surprising thing about the little gem is that it won't break the bank to stay there..... enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

5 minutes walk from the town center, very nice and cosy b&b. Owner very welcoming and helpful. We stayed two comfortable nights in a spotless room with a very nice bathroom. Breakfast is excellent. A real effort is made to make sure you enjoy your stay which is very much appreciated. We recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prinessofcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Lovely two night break in this B&B. Modern, homely and very clean. Great location to walk into town, good quality breakfast and owner Alexis couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.
Our room had patio doors on to a decked area, which would have been nice to relax on, if we had had more time. Good size en suite, large comfy bed and good quality bedding and towels, had the small touches which made it better than the standard B&B I have experienced in Inverness before.

Room Tip: Double room has patio doors to outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have stayed at this B&B twice over the past few years, in both the bedrooms and it has always been great.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and come with tea/coffee facilities and shortbread, whilst the bathrooms have toiletries and lovely fluffy towels.
Bed could have been a little comfier (very creeky matress), but other than that flawless.

Lovely breakfast (you can choose the night before what you want and there is a great choice), and the owner is helpful and understated.

Perfect B&B for couples, solo travelers of families. Just book in advance as there are only 2 rooms!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailidh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

A wonderful B&B close to the town and restaurants, but nice and quiet. Mrs Ross was extremely helpful and spoilt my husband wrotten with one of the nices breakfasts we had during the entire trip. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngharadWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Well where do i start...One off the best B&B's we have stayed in in a long time.

Hospitality - Excellent, very friendly and helpful, Mrs Ross provided us with all the information we required for our 2 day break in Inverness.
Room spacious & immaculate with very comfortable bed, Flat screen TV, Internet access, coffee making facilities & very spacious en suite with excellent power shower just what you need after a busy day shopping which is only 5 mins walk away from all shops, bars & restaurants, very central.
Breakfast - Great choice off cereals & full Scottish breakfast (Set us up for the day)

All in all great value for money will definitively be back and will recommend Sandwood B&B to all our family and friends!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan13Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Rossmount Guest House
Rossmount Guest House
#15 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#20 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pitfaranne Guest House
Pitfaranne Guest House
#46 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Culliss House B&B
Culliss House B&B
#39 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eildon Guest House
Eildon Guest House
#24 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carisbrooke Guest House
Carisbrooke Guest House
#73 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandwood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandwood Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sandwood Bed and Breakfast
Address: 54 Argyle Street | Crown, Inverness IV2 3BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sandwood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandwood Bed And Breakfast Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing