We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel ive ever stayed in!!!!”
Review of Corriegarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corriegarth Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst hotel ive ever stayed in!!!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

we booked 3 double rooms we got 2, the bedding was dirty which was disgusting! they gave us blow up beds as all other hotels in the area were full, we had no apology and were refunded after complaining a few times, there were holes in the walls in our room and dirty handprints on the wall, the bathroom had mould up the shower unit and the toilets hadnt been flushed, the only good point about the hotel was the location as very central i would not recommend for anyone, the restaurant and bar had been recently decorated but rest of it was in desperate need of redecoration and new bedding!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    63
    20
    13
    13
See reviews for
29
70
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

It was not stated on booking that our stay would not include breakfast (the fact it would unless told otherwise was I thought a fair assumption to make). Upon arival we discovered that the hotel simply does not do breakfasts!! In fact, it appeared to be unmanned until 9am the following morning - UNBELIEVABLE! Whilst the main public areas downstairs all looked very nice, the room, well. Awful green decor,a TV with no remote, that simply would not work without one, and a bathrom window that was locked (a health and safety issue surely?). That aside, the room STANK of cigarette smoke!! THe chap ho attended to us on arrival was very polite and helpful about the area, but that's about it. AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safetyrazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

I visited the hotel recently with friends and decided to have a meal.That was a big mistake! I ordered "catch of the day"which foolishly I imagined would have been fresh fish! No chance, I got a small fillet of frozen fish[deep fried and as hard as nails],no tartare sauce or lemon and some luke warm vegetables.Very disappointing and definitely not value for money.None of my friends were impressed and we won't be going back!!
Bad news travels fast!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelledlady44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

This hotel has a strange payment system in that they charge your debit card the tariff for the evening as a kind of 'hold payment' at check in and then get you to pay again on check out. So primarily you pay twice. The 'hold payment' or pre-authorisation is then meant to be refunded within 5-7 days. This did not happen. After 14 days I rang the hotel and was assured by the manager she'd fix it and call me back. This did not happen. After 18 or 19 days I rang again and they assured me a refund would be put through ASAP. Still did not happen. So I wrote an email which was not responded to at around 21 days. Finally I had to call and threaten legal action to the chap that was on the evening shift. He was helpful and empathetic thankfully. Finally I got a badly written feeble apology from the manager via email but with no explanation whatsover. After 23 days I finally got my money refunded. Not only do I find this payment system underming to the customer but felt quite stressd by the fact that I felt if I wasn't so persistant in asking for my money back I may never have got it. So if you don't mind being distrusted as a customer and paying the tariff twice stay here. But I wouldn't.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FOLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

oh dear, what a place to stay, booked through late bookers for a double room for myself and my wife for our anniversary, ended up with what can only be described as a box room with two single beds crammed in.
Television was hanging of the wall and we could not find the remote control anywhere. Spoke to young man on reception who arrived with a replacement which didn't work and who left after trying unsuccessfully to get the TV to work manually. Sorry to say but you could only get radio on it and certainly no picture.

I wasn't that bothered about the TV as we wern't going to be watching it any way.

Never mind, I thought we would go down to dinner, went to the A le carte restaurant which had no body else there eating, which should have rang some allarm bells as the hotel directly opposite appeared packed with customers, for starters I had the crab which was completely off, when I pointed this out the waitress took it away and then came back to tell me that it was fresh. Now I am the son of a fisherman and have eaten seafood all of my life and I can asure you that this dish was most certainly off.

I then had the steak which was just passable.

when checking out the next day the lady on reception started to argue about the crab being fresh.

Never mind that, I then told her, out of courtesy to the next poor guest that would be staying in the same room ,that there was no remote control in the room and that the TV did not work. To my astonishment she then asked me if I had the inteligence to look under the beds for the remote and that the TV was working.

It most certainly was not working and when we had looked under the bed we found plenty of things under there but no remote.

The final insult was when I checked the bill when I got home and found out that they had charged us £15 over the booked price, which I can only imagine was for breakfast that was not booked or asked for.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrazzledScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We had booked this hotel following a website reference noting it had recently been refurbished. Don't be fooled by this, the downstairs may have been upgraded but the room certainly was not to the same standard. On arrival we were given a twin room after having booked a double. The hotel was full and this could not be changed. The room was small and overlooked a noisy, smoky outside sitting area. The bathroom had old soap with hair on it from the previous user, not exactly a warm welcome.

Putting that aside and being tired from a lot of travel we went to the bar and had some food, this was of good quality and at this point we were fine with the place.

We went to bed early, my partner having run a mountain marathon that day. As you can imagine rest and relaxation was all we wanted.

The hotel had a wedding that evening with it seems many of the guests staying in the hotel. The noise was horrendous and continued all night ranging from shouting in the streets outside to constant banging of doors, smoke permeating the corridors and our smoke free room. Residents constantly arguing and shouting in the corridors and banging on all the room doors (including ours). At 7 am we couldn't cope any longer having missed a full nights sleep. We had to wake the manager (her room was in the thick of the noisy area), she noted she had heard nothing. There seemed to be no control of residents or respect for those not involved in the wedding party.

Horrendous stay, what a let down for a potential gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Hotel is 3 minutes from the city centre which made it an ideal weekend getaway. The rooms were lovely, bathrooms had all the little extras in and the staff were helful and cheerful throughout our stay. We had breakfast which was really good and had one evening meal in their brasserie,. Quite an extensive menu and making a choice was difficult. It is a small hotel with just 6 bedrooms but the service and quality is something similar to a four star!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlehobo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Heathmount Hotel
Heathmount Hotel
#14 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#24 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
0.2 mi away
Crown Court Hotel
Crown Court Hotel
#32 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corriegarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corriegarth Hotel

Property: Corriegarth Hotel
Address: 5 Heathmount Road, Inverness IV2 3JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Corriegarth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corriegarth is a great bar restaurant with rooms that have been refurbished in March 2017. Situated only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Inverness and 10 minutes from the railway station it is close enough to enjoy the city yet in a quieter location to be able to relax. Our bar is very popular, showing sports and serving a wide range of beers, whisky, gin and wines. Freshly prepared meals are available all day between 8am and 10pm We look forward to welcoming you to Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Corriegarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corriegarth Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing