We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you can avoid it!”

The Highlander B & B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Highlander B & B
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Clairfontaine
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't go if you can avoid it!”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Firts of all, let's say that they aren't a b and b but rather a hotel without the rules applying to such establishments! The room was more like a cell than a proper room. It 's located in the basement and the window looks onto the wall in front! The bathroom was even more cramped with nothing whatsoever to put your toiletries on.. The owners seem to be more interested in your money than in your well-being.. And even worse, what is a little bit scary is the video camera system watching your every move around the premises.. The only positive point is the location but there are many other real bed and breakfast rooms and guest houses in the same street... On the whole, an experience to forget.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zelda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    19
    9
    23
See reviews for
5
34
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The room was dirty and cramped.
The woman who did the cooking was surly and rude
The only good thing is that it was near the centre

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Baie Comeau, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The place was clean, relatively comfortable but cramped. The scottish breakfast was tasteless and we had trouble digesting it. But, the biggest problem was the rude hostess. She told us the confirmation papers I had were not right and she made us wait a good 5 minutes before giving us an envelope with my name on it (all ready) right there in front of her. Also, she was impatient (rolled her eyes upward) when I asked her to repeat something!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantale n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We booked 2 nights but when we saw the room which was in the basement and looked like a prison cell, we went looking for another B &B for our second night in Inverness. There was a tiny window that looked onto a wall on top of which there were bars. In addition, the manager is a woman really unfriendly. On the Website, it is stated that there is parking on site, which is completely wrong because it is impossible to park his car on the sidewalk during the day. There is also, apparently, a wireless Internet access in public areas but when we asked her the question, she told us that if we wanted to have internet, you had to go downtown. The TV in the room did not work either. The only TV that worked was a large flat screen that broadcast images of the CCTV cameras installed throughout the corridors. In short, we do not recommend this hotel nightmarish and shameful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterThifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Booked and paid for an en-suite single - arrived to be told that they were overbooked - was given a tiny single (not en-suite). Manager friendly enough and helped me to orientate myself regarding the city, but no compensation offered or anything for the lack of facilities. Had to travel downstairs to use a bathroom. Breakfast was ok - although I expected there to be more than one table to sit at!! No wi-fi although it is offered.

Room was clean - but smelt of smoke - bedding clean.

If I had paid £25 I would have been reasonably happy - as I had paid nearly double for that, I wasn't.

Read through the reviews - there are too many negative reviews for them not to be true in some way.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-sdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

After here. As working un Inverness. After reading some of the reviews I thought OMG. But apart from the coded locks, and the dismal back garden, the stay was what I expected. The only problem with ny room was a water mark near the sink as the shower had been leaking. But I was advised that was being dealt with.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottmlad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had 2 twin rooms; four Scout Leaders doing the 3 peaks challenge. After booking I saw this review site and dreaded the stay, but it was excellent! Spotless, well furnished, en-suite shower/toilet in both rooms, full fresh linen, T&C in both, excellent fried breakfasts with wide cereal and pastry choices. I don't have a single complaint.
Chatting to the woman we dealt with, this management also run a cheap hostel, and I can only assume that the other reviewers must have stayed there instead, because our stay was perfect, even though we arrived in Inverness after 11PM. She even gave us parking advice to avoid early morning traffic wardens!

Room Tip: We had basement rooms, lovely and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandanthelig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Inverness Fairways
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Inverness
Travelodge Inverness
#24 of 34 in Inverness
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corriegarth Hotel
Corriegarth Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 34 in Inverness
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlander B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlander B & B

Property: The Highlander B & B
Address: 28 Ardconnel Street, Inverness IV2 3EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Highlander B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highlander B & B Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing