We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hospitality helped overcome a below average room”

The Highlander B & B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Highlander B & B
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hospitality helped overcome a below average room”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This B&B has an excellent location, walking distance to the main retail area of Inverness. Get directions in advance because it is not an easy place to find. We were required to pay well in advance, which is probably because the house is, well, as other reviewers have mentioned, poorly remodeled. Our room had a great view, was clean, but the TV didn't work, the faucet needed to be properly repaired, etc... The Latvian woman who runs the place is simply marvelous, very helpful, accommodating, and made one of the best breakfasts we had in Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    19
    9
    23
See reviews for
5
34
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Friendly & helpful Latvian lass who cooked a good breakfast. Room was a bit small but clean. Only one curtain so couldn't draw it open, shower room a bit tatty but wifi worked well. Would use again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil1947Ilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Cheap, clean and remarkably quiet B&B close to the town centre. Not too sure what people expect for such low prices (in comparison to other accommodations in Inverness), yeah breakfast is not great but did the job (filled up on toast, mushrooms and yogurt - all fine).

Would use again just because of location and that fact we don't book at this price and plan to use the accommodation as much more than a sleeping base, a job it fulfills perfectly well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I don't usually write a negative review, I always try to see the positive things about hotels I visited. I've been in many bed and breakfast in my travel to Europe this summer understanding that a b&b is a remodeled home, most of the times the lady in charge is the owner she serves a wonderful breakfast and their rooms are very cozy.

I felt very disappointed to arrive to this B&B "The Highlander" in Inverness, the worst hotel I have ever been and this why:

The home is a very bad remodeled home, our room measured 2.40 by 3.00 square meters. The bed is hardly a double bed, the curtains didn't hide the light of the day, I had a tiny TV that never worked, but the worst thing in this room was the big window on the roof with NO curtains and we happen to be in the longest day of the year June 21st. It was daylight most of the day and night and at 4 o'clock it was already day again! So we couldn't have a good night sleep. The badroom measures 1 by 2 sq. Meters with one tiny pink soap. The smallest shower I have ever seen in my life, so unconfortable!
The cost of this horrible B&B was £100.00 at night, which is not a bargain! Even the tea (in Scotland!!) the continental breakfast and the coffee they offered included in the price, was very bad quality.

The most important thing we look when we choose a hotel is to have a night rest, following by the service you get from what you payed. I regret that the lady that was in charge of this B&B was in a terrible mood ever since we arrived in the middle of a storm, we walked from the train station with our luggage! We finally arrived to the house and then we were received by this lady with NOT even a smile in her face. I am sure she is not a professional worker of the tourist world, she doesn't know what a good service is, shame on her because I found Scotish very kind (she was not from the Commonwealth!). I tried to complain at the Tourist board and they couldn't do anything either.

I don't think this is fair for all the people working hard for this industry, The Tourist Department of Inverness, Scotland should not give permission to this kind of places so called B&B! I am very mad and would not reccomend this ugly place to anyone in the world.

Room Tip: Be very carefull to choose a hotel in Inverness contact The Official Tourism Board
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sally_Rangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

upon arrival, an embittered woman whom which did not ever looked onto our eyes came, since the very beggining we seem to be disturbing even we were the guests and she the recepcionist. It seems the reservation was not properly done and this was our fault, but her attictude towards us was horrible. we really wanted to leave this place inmediately just because of her manners, 60 pounds were paid in advance though, that's the reason we stayed. she said we were mistaken in regards to the place, and no rooms were available, then manager came and sorted this out, although we were given a double room rather than en- suite room as requested and payed. this is not a bed and breakfast, this is a youth-jail hostel with cells style rooms, but with cameras throughout the site. the first night we encountered a previous guest, it was a really big and black spider holdind on the wall. when we arrived the second night after a long day trip we discovered that our room was not clean and came to speak with the personnel to find out the reason and we were told that this service needed to be requested in advance and were treated like idiots that have never travelled before. can you imagine this in another bed and breakfast? we were in other b&b across scotland and in all of them rooms were clean every day after 10 am. there is no parking nor wifi connection unless you go close to the door of the main building. for breakfast you are eating something unidentifable (you dont know whether you are eating meet or cardboard). the only good and real thing from what they are announcing is that they are close to the city centre so dont believe in the flyers they spread out, specially the part linked to friendly staff that make us even more than laugh. guest are treated as lemons to be squeezed. better not to speak about the bathroom (which is just opposite to the kitchen) and our advice to them would be not to lie and cheat people presenting this as a b&b with hostel facilites. but the worst thing is definitely the landlady. she needs to learn how to do her job with good manners otherwise better to choose another job if possible......
the bottonline is to avoid this place, they should pay you to stay there rather than the opposite. we were just happy once we left this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ottiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

A very basic B&B at 36 Ardconnel Street, (I think they own several properties in the street). It was clean and tidy; our double room was built into the loft and was very small and cramped. More for overnight working men and back packers. We were only offered continental breakfast. The one shocking thing was the bed was broken and nothing could be done once we found this out at 23:00, we didn't sleep at all - when mentioned to the lady manager she said they thought it had been mended (not replaced!)?? I don't usually write reviews but we have never stayed anywhere quite like this before.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Readyforanadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairfontaine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Firts of all, let's say that they aren't a b and b but rather a hotel without the rules applying to such establishments! The room was more like a cell than a proper room. It 's located in the basement and the window looks onto the wall in front! The bathroom was even more cramped with nothing whatsoever to put your toiletries on.. The owners seem to be more interested in your money than in your well-being.. And even worse, what is a little bit scary is the video camera system watching your every move around the premises.. The only positive point is the location but there are many other real bed and breakfast rooms and guest houses in the same street... On the whole, an experience to forget.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zelda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Inverness Fairways
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Inverness
Travelodge Inverness
#24 of 34 in Inverness
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corriegarth Hotel
Corriegarth Hotel
#14 of 34 in Inverness
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#25 of 34 in Inverness
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlander B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlander B & B

Property: The Highlander B & B
Address: 28 Ardconnel Street, Inverness IV2 3EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Highlander B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highlander B & B Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing