We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class hospitality and very comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Highlander B & B

The Highlander B & B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Highlander B & B
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Arbroath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First class hospitality and very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I'm a courier who travels nationwide and booked the Highlander B&B for a short overnight stay. I received a text message with all the B&B's details and info of my booking following my phone call which I thought was useful. I had booked a single room but upon my arrival I was upgraded to a double, was very clean, decent sized room, shower looked recently refurbished, altogether completely adequate. As I was the last for breakfast I was given a 'doggy bag' containing fruit, bread and cold meat away with me for my journey, felt like I'd been staying with my aunt who always despatches me with a pack lunch after I visit! You don't get that at any 5 star hotels! This place is very reasonably priced, it's basic but thats reflected in the price, was the cheapest I could find in Inverness on that day, and with the excellent service I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    19
    9
    23
See reviews for
5
34
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Despite a great location and reasonable cleanliness, I wouldn't recommend this b&b.The rooms are badly designed with uncomfortable beds, see-through curtains and very average facilities. All of this would have been tolerable, if not coupled with the extremely unhelpful and unfriendly hostess. Any reasonable request is a problem for her and a smile is to much effort.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This B&B has an excellent location, walking distance to the main retail area of Inverness. Get directions in advance because it is not an easy place to find. We were required to pay well in advance, which is probably because the house is, well, as other reviewers have mentioned, poorly remodeled. Our room had a great view, was clean, but the TV didn't work, the faucet needed to be properly repaired, etc... The Latvian woman who runs the place is simply marvelous, very helpful, accommodating, and made one of the best breakfasts we had in Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Friendly & helpful Latvian lass who cooked a good breakfast. Room was a bit small but clean. Only one curtain so couldn't draw it open, shower room a bit tatty but wifi worked well. Would use again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil1947Ilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Cheap, clean and remarkably quiet B&B close to the town centre. Not too sure what people expect for such low prices (in comparison to other accommodations in Inverness), yeah breakfast is not great but did the job (filled up on toast, mushrooms and yogurt - all fine).

Would use again just because of location and that fact we don't book at this price and plan to use the accommodation as much more than a sleeping base, a job it fulfills perfectly well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I don't usually write a negative review, I always try to see the positive things about hotels I visited. I've been in many bed and breakfast in my travel to Europe this summer understanding that a b&b is a remodeled home, most of the times the lady in charge is the owner she serves a wonderful breakfast and their rooms are very cozy.

I felt very disappointed to arrive to this B&B "The Highlander" in Inverness, the worst hotel I have ever been and this why:

The home is a very bad remodeled home, our room measured 2.40 by 3.00 square meters. The bed is hardly a double bed, the curtains didn't hide the light of the day, I had a tiny TV that never worked, but the worst thing in this room was the big window on the roof with NO curtains and we happen to be in the longest day of the year June 21st. It was daylight most of the day and night and at 4 o'clock it was already day again! So we couldn't have a good night sleep. The badroom measures 1 by 2 sq. Meters with one tiny pink soap. The smallest shower I have ever seen in my life, so unconfortable!
The cost of this horrible B&B was £100.00 at night, which is not a bargain! Even the tea (in Scotland!!) the continental breakfast and the coffee they offered included in the price, was very bad quality.

The most important thing we look when we choose a hotel is to have a night rest, following by the service you get from what you payed. I regret that the lady that was in charge of this B&B was in a terrible mood ever since we arrived in the middle of a storm, we walked from the train station with our luggage! We finally arrived to the house and then we were received by this lady with NOT even a smile in her face. I am sure she is not a professional worker of the tourist world, she doesn't know what a good service is, shame on her because I found Scotish very kind (she was not from the Commonwealth!). I tried to complain at the Tourist board and they couldn't do anything either.

I don't think this is fair for all the people working hard for this industry, The Tourist Department of Inverness, Scotland should not give permission to this kind of places so called B&B! I am very mad and would not reccomend this ugly place to anyone in the world.

Room Tip: Be very carefull to choose a hotel in Inverness contact The Official Tourism Board
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sally_Rangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

upon arrival, an embittered woman whom which did not ever looked onto our eyes came, since the very beggining we seem to be disturbing even we were the guests and she the recepcionist. It seems the reservation was not properly done and this was our fault, but her attictude towards us was horrible. we really wanted to leave this place inmediately just because of her manners, 60 pounds were paid in advance though, that's the reason we stayed. she said we were mistaken in regards to the place, and no rooms were available, then manager came and sorted this out, although we were given a double room rather than en- suite room as requested and payed. this is not a bed and breakfast, this is a youth-jail hostel with cells style rooms, but with cameras throughout the site. the first night we encountered a previous guest, it was a really big and black spider holdind on the wall. when we arrived the second night after a long day trip we discovered that our room was not clean and came to speak with the personnel to find out the reason and we were told that this service needed to be requested in advance and were treated like idiots that have never travelled before. can you imagine this in another bed and breakfast? we were in other b&b across scotland and in all of them rooms were clean every day after 10 am. there is no parking nor wifi connection unless you go close to the door of the main building. for breakfast you are eating something unidentifable (you dont know whether you are eating meet or cardboard). the only good and real thing from what they are announcing is that they are close to the city centre so dont believe in the flyers they spread out, specially the part linked to friendly staff that make us even more than laugh. guest are treated as lemons to be squeezed. better not to speak about the bathroom (which is just opposite to the kitchen) and our advice to them would be not to lie and cheat people presenting this as a b&b with hostel facilites. but the worst thing is definitely the landlady. she needs to learn how to do her job with good manners otherwise better to choose another job if possible......
the bottonline is to avoid this place, they should pay you to stay there rather than the opposite. we were just happy once we left this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ottiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Crown Court Hotel
Crown Court Hotel
#33 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#27 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlander B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlander B & B

Property: The Highlander B & B
Address: 28 Ardconnel Street, Inverness IV2 3EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and HostelWorld so you can book your The Highlander B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highlander B & B Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing