We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky only one night”

The Highlander B & B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Highlander B & B
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Whilst I had no great expectations, they were nearly met. The staff is curtious enough, but the physical plant is below par. Even if we could only afford a B&B the Highlander would not top our list. The "room" was to small to swing a cat in. The bathroom was extremely tight and musty.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Alassio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was pleasantly surprised after reading some very critical reviews.
We had a basement room with an en suite. Very clean. Not posh, but quite adequate. The window provided air and light.
Hair dryer available on request.
We were leaving quite early and did not have breakfast, but they were very kind to provide us with a packed to-go sandwich, yoghurt and fruit bag that they left in the fridge for us.
Sylvia is quietly reserved, with a wonderful sense of humor and charm once you get her talking.
Robert is outgoing, friendly and has great suggestions about the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntbudde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Having booked on line when we arrived we where met by a nice lady, who showed us to our rooms, When I booked we rang and my Husband said I was not very good with stairs, the owner assured us it would be o.k. but my brother and his wife got a the attic loads of stairs and we where in the basement lots of steep stairs. The room was alright small, no wardrobe, no plug in the bathroom sink, no hair drier but clean. When we booked we booked full breakfast that we could not fault and the man that did the breakfast was good kept asking if we wanted anything and was very friendly. We did not know going to the town was down a lot of stairs I managed going down but needed a taxi to get back.

Room Tip: I just think you take pot luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

On a overall feeling of a comfortable 2night stay I would say this b&b was quite adequate. As requested we had a ground floor room which although smallish it had everything we needed. Yes there was a small tv but we did go to watch television and there is no hand held hairdryer but more a hand dryer in the shower room. The town is a short walk away down some steps and our relative we were visiting was only a short walk away as well.
I would point out that the breakfast served was a continental style which was to my taste but not husbands,

Room Tip: We were happy with the ground floor but cannot comment on the upper floor room but the basement floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortsmouthPensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We needed accommodation in Inverness at short notice so booked through lastminute.com. I stated in the correspondence that we would be arriving late and I stated the time. A few hours before we were due to arrive I got a phone call asking where I was and what time I would arrive...? I re-explained to him what time we would arrive and that I had actually forewarned them. We arrived at the Highlander B&B at the exact time I said we would and we were then taken down into the dungeon like room. The location wasn't too bad and the room was fine for one night, because we just went to sleep and got right out of there the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flatwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

One overnight city break, booked last minute. Very handy for the centre of Inverness but is located in the hilly area of town, up behind the Castle. Was very basic accommodation - double bed in a very small ground floor room, with view to an overgrown patio/garden area. A small en suite shower, a cloakroom size sink with no plug, so water just ran away constantly. No shelf/space to put your toiletries, other than in the shower soap tray. We put our toiletries on the window ledge in bedroom. A double wardrobe with coat hangers and ample drawer space. Bed was very comfortable and all linen fresh and clean. Two bedside cabinets and one table lamp. We did have a comfortable, good night's sleep. A kettle with tea/coffee making facilities and biscuits was provided. Breakfast for us was continental style, which again was basic, but sufficient to set us up for the morning. Plenty of filter coffee available. We noticed some guests had a full Scottish breakfast, presumably available on request, and at a different price. We paid £60 for the double room and continental breakfast. The Highlander was alright for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinty059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We paid £55.00 for a twin-bedded room for one night. The B&B appears to be in two separate premises at each end of a Victorian terrace - once you are in Ardconnel St, it is difficult to miss the garish signs! Previous reviews of the (? eastern European) lady running it have been critical of her attitude - I think she is in fact just rather reserved, and is very pleasant once you get talking.

Our room was in the basement, but with a window that admitted some light. Each bed was large for a single, although this also had the effect of over-filling what was a rather small room. There were no bedside table lamps, so you had to get out of bed to turn the lights off. (However, the next room which we glimpsed appeared to have a table lamp). The stud wall between the adjoining rooms did not damp out the noise of a heavy snorer next door. Bizarrely, there was a postbox on the wall of the room - we never found out why. There was no wardrobe, but there was a rather useless tall empty bookcase. The bathroom sink was small and the kettle was large, which made filling it rather difficult.

There was a notice at reception that there was a 10% charge for payment by card - but the aforementioned lady said that this did not apply to us! Again, we never found out why.

The room was clean. Breakfast was perfectly acceptable.

The B&B is a short walk from the bus station and railway station - but the B&B's own website is not very clear and the hostel-booking website we used was positively misleading. The pedestrian route from the bus station is to turn left onto Academy Street. From the front entrance of the railway station, do likewise. From the side entrance of the railway station, keep right. Opposite the corner of the railway station is a short paved street - Inglis Street (has a large clock above one of the shops), at the end of which are the self-identified Market Brae Steps, which do not appear on Google. Go up them, and you are then in Ardconnel Street - turn right and the B&B is a short distance on the right-hand side.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Crown Court Hotel
Crown Court Hotel
#33 of 36 in Inverness
205 reviews
2.8 mi away
Smithton Hotel
Smithton Hotel
#32 of 36 in Inverness
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 36 in Inverness
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Inverness Fairways
0.2 mi away
Corriegarth Hotel
Corriegarth Hotel
#19 of 36 in Inverness
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#23 of 36 in Inverness
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlander B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlander B & B

Address: 28 Ardconnel Street, Inverness IV2 3EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: £57 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Highlander B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highlander B & B Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing