We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service, OK Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moray Park Guest House
Ranked #95 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The rooms were clean, bathroom was not ideal-very small. The woman serving breakfast was extremely chatty, to the point where she would not serve you because she was too busy chatting away with others. Breakfast was ok. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember01272015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

Stayed overnight on a business trip. The hotel was very clean and our host was friendly and helpful. A short and pleasant walk along the river and we arrived in town for dinner.

The room was good - traditional furniture, very clean, included a couple of chairs as well. Possibly the bed was a bit on the short side, my feet seemed very close to the bottom (I'm not particularly tall so this may be more of a problem for taller guests).

Only slightly strange omission was that of soap. My very clean en-suite room included complimentary toiletries (shower gel, shampoo, face cloth, shower cap etc), it was just unusual that they did not include any soap - possibly an oversight rather than an omission.

The breakfast was excellent and as well as the full english option, we could also choose from continental breakfast, cereals, fresh fruit or other cooked options.

I would happily stay here again (though I would remember to pack my own soap - just in case!).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My husband and I spent two nights here on 29th & 30th July. Our room was lovely with views towards the river, spotlessly clean. We also had a small seating area with a settee and tv which was a big bonus as most places only provide one chair and presumably expect the other occupant to sit on the bed or floor.!! The only small niggle is that we only had bath towels provided and no hand towels, however, there were very nice toileteries and little extras in the ensuite.

The breakfast was very good and served in a very nice dining room overlooking the river.

The owners are a very nice and helpful, they cannot do enough to ensure yur stay is a good one and deserve a lot of success.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noreen_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed in Moray Park for three nights in June 2010.
On arrival we had a very warm welcome, and were shown to our room on the top floor. This had lovely views over the river, it really didn't feel like being in a city! The room was clean, warm and neat, and surprisingly spacious.
The breakfasts were excellent, with a nice choice of menu, I'd definately recommend the pancakes, and of course the Moray Grill.
It was a real bonus having free parking (I'm told parking can be difficult in Inverness), we were only 5 minutes walk along the river-front from the centre and the castle, past many restaraunts, we'd recommend the The River Cafe & Restaurant. Also accross the river was a tourist board with many walks, up to the islands or down to the river mouth.
Inverness was a great base for exploring, we visited Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle one day, went dolphin watching (unfortunately not successfully!), and visited Cawdor Castle and Fort George, all worth recommending. We'd also recommend the Inverness Museum just below the castle, to give a good overview of Scottish history.
We'd definately return given the chance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asherah213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The owners were incredibly very friendly. The location is perfect, very peaceful which was great. Alot of choice for breakfast which was lovely. The room was great as described and so overlooked the river Ness. Guest House also is available with on site parking and within walking distance to the centre of Inverness.

Conclusion:- Great stay, lovely accomodation, clean and tidy, great value, lovely family
run business, nothing was too much trouble, very friendly people really
made us feel at home and very welcome

Brillant choice, we would definitely stay again in this guest house.

Marisa & Ian Bons
Malta

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Stayed at the Moray Park for 1 night and found that although there were obvious renovations happening on the 1st floor at this small guest house it did not disturb our stay in any way. Our rooms were on the top floor, up two flights of stairs and the owner very kindly carried our bags up for us. The location of the guest house was good as it is just 10 minutes walk from the city centre. The rooms were large and very traditionally furnished and tea and coffee was available as well as TV, Freeview and DVD player. The only downside with my room was that my ensuite facility did not have a shower ~ just a bath, which I found really, really inconvenient. The excellent breakfast in the morning was served by the owners father who was extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to help. A taxi was also ordered for us on our departure. The cost of £35 pp (winter rate) was exceptional for Inverness and I would certainly recommend The Moray Park as a place to stay in Inverness.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Upon arrival in the larger university town of Inverness, we immediately headed to the TI to book our room in a B&B and found the staff there to be very helpful. Needs identified, they contacted Moray and found them to be met there. The house is located just about a 7 minute walk outside of the town center and is a lovely walk along the River Ness.
We stayed in a room on the top floor with angled ceilings and a separate sitting area.

It was very nice accommodations — our only fault of the room was that the bathroom was very cold – the floors were almost unbearable so the provided bath rug was moved around the room as needed. We did find the free wifi access handy until it was oddly changed at around 9:30 pm in the evening while we were using it and we no longer had any access. We felt it was too late to speak with the owners and gave up for the evening – trying again in the morning but still found it inaccessible.

Breakfast in the morning was one of the best we have had in the UK – the traditional fare of eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato, mushroom, toast, coffee, tea, and juice — just don’t call it an English breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharityK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.9 mi away
Smithton Hotel
Smithton Hotel
#32 of 36 in Inverness
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Inverness
Travelodge Inverness
#25 of 36 in Inverness
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Leanach Farm
Leanach Farm
#134 of 232 in Inverness
68 reviews
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Doura Lodge
#125 of 232 in Inverness
6 reviews
1.3 mi away
By the Brae Bed and Breakfast
By the Brae Bed and Breakfast
#44 of 232 in Inverness
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moray Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moray Park Guest House

Address: Island Bank Road | Moray Park, Inverness IV2 4SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moray Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moray Park Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing