We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful castle and cruise.”

Loch Ness by Jacobite
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.30*
and up
Loch Ness Cruise Including Urquhart Castle and Loch Ness Centre and Exhibition
More Info
US$60.85*
and up
Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise Including Visit to Urquhart Castle and Loch Ness...
More Info
US$42.33*
and up
Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise Including Urquhart Castle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Water doesn't get much more mysterious than this 23 mile stretch running through the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland.There's no better way to experience Loch Ness than by boat. Jacobite's award winning tours and cruises get you onto the water and into the heart of this iconic landscape. This is a whole lot more than simply sight-seeing. We've been running trips on and around Loch Ness for over 30 years and most of us live here.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Glengary WV
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful castle and cruise.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Passion tour is worth the money! There was a nice drive along River Ness to the Loch, and Kenny, our driver, gave us lots of information on the local history on the way to the Loch Ness Exhibition Center. At a stopping point, he was even able to give my husband some insights into some hitherto unknown Scottish origins of some ancestors! The stop at the Corrimony Cairn was very interesting. The Loch Ness Center was interesting and told us why modern science tells us that Nessie can't exist (but.......!). One small comment would be that a bit less time could have been spent there because it didn't take as long as the time allotted to see their program & personally we would have enjoyed an additional 15 or so minutes at Urquhart Castle. The castle ruins are spectacular and definitely need to be walked and climbed rather than viewed from the road or a bus, so we are glad we took the Passion Tour. The boat ride was very nice - we had a fine, sunny day & could enjoy the pleasure boats on the Loch and the sights along the shore. The cruise through the Caledonian Canal and its locks was particularly interesting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank clstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredaNewton, Owner at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Reviewer, thank you for the fantastic feedback. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. The Passion tour is a great way to visit and learn about Loch Ness and the surrounding area. All our guides are knowledgeable and informative and Kenny is certainly no exception. We are always looking into ways of improving our tours and therefore take note of your comment made about the Loch Ness Exhibition Centre.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,366
    602
    118
    40
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great Trip”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were a group of 7, the boat was full. Enjoyable trip up to Urquhart Castle and back. Staff very friendly and accommodating, couldnt do enough for our group. The bar is well stocked with a selection of drinks, tea/coffee/alcohol and soft drinks. Reasonably priced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sparkly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredaNewton, Owner at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Reviewer, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the staff were helpful. Working in such beautiful surroundings on a daily basis certainly makes it easier to be friendly with passengers. Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Seeing Loch Ness in a day”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We booked in a 5-hour Passion Tour which took us to the Loch Ness exhibition centre, view a 4,000 year old Scottish grave site, walk around Urquhart Castle and take a half-hour cruise along Loch Ness. The only other alternative would have been to rent a car, but I doubt we could have saved much money, and certainly we could not have packed so many visits into a 5-hour schedule on our own. The tour guide, Alison was excellent and made our tour so interesting and entertaining. Highly recommended for first time visitors to Loch Ness.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SYKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredaNewton, Owner at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Passion tour. It is a wonderful way to visit and learn about Loch Ness and the surrounding area at a relaxing pace. Alison is certainly very informative and knowledgeable, as are all our tour guides, and the guides also take away the stress of driving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We did the Passion tour which included some sightseeing, the castle and a cruise on Loch Ness. The bus picked us up and we did a little driving and sightseeing around Loch Ness and then we went to the Loch Ness exhibit center. The bus driver was very knowledgeable and even stopped to view some Highland cows which my husband has been wanting to see. The Loch Ness exhibit was great, except that it is disappointing to learn there really is no monster!!
Urquhart Castle is wonderful with some stunning views of Loch Ness. The cruise on Loch Ness is really worth it. You learn about the Loch as well as get some stunning views.
This was a wonderful day out!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank donjenks35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredaNewton, Owner at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Reviewer, we are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the Passion tour. It is a great way to spend a day visiting and learning all about Loch Ness and the surrounding area, and all at a relaxed pace. The views in the area are stunning and we certainly appreciate working in such scenic surroundings on a daily basis.

We are glad that your husband got to see the infamous Highland Coo. As for the Monster, with such worldwide attention she sometimes gets tired with all the publicity work and asked the locals if there was anyway of reducing the amount of attention.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piraeus, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where is Nessie?”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A 2 hour cruise on Loch Ness, which means half an hour on the catamaran, a one hour time frame at Urquhart Castle to explore and climb towers at the large ruins, and a half hour cruise back was well worth the trip on this huge Loch. The Loch Ness Shop at Clansman Harbour where you get your ticket for this 'Freedom' Clansman Harbour cruise is one of the best gift shops I've come across in Scotland. There is also a coffee shop at the end of this gift shop with yummy cakes! The Jacobite brochure has really great driving instructions at the back. The water on the loch is very clean but brown so if Nessie lives there the Loch is so deep you have to constantly be on the lookout!. Well worth the trip. English Heritage members are half price and there is a discount for Seniors as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredaNewton, Owner at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. The Freedom tour is a great way to combine a cruise with a visit to Urquhart Castle. The water in the Loch is fresh, clean water and the dark brown colour is due to the peat content. We provide clear driving instructions in the brochure (and on the website) to the Clansman as the postcode covers a somewhat large area! If anyone were to enter the postcode into a satellite navigation system it would send them up into the hills and well away from the Clansman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Ness by Jacobite also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Loch Ness by Jacobite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing