We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whin Park Guest House
Ranked #190 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Room was rather small, but adequate. Bathroom also small and shower a bit of a tight squeeze. Soundproofing between rooms could have been better. Quiet location. Average breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms at the front (in the old house rather than the new part). They look out on...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relaxationseeker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Whin Park Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

Spent 3 nights at Whinpark. Great location along the river, just 5 minute walk to the center.
Very nicely cooked breackfast & very friendly and accomodating staff.

Although the check in was supposed to be until 8pm, we arrived at 21:30 and they welcomed us all the same and with smiley faces.

Shower was a nightmare though. Tiny cubicle with either scalding or cold water. It took a good hour in the morning to get the shower going in a way it was actually possible to take a half descent shower and I think it was the same in other rooms as I could hear the people next door struggling with it as well.

Decoration in the room was dated but not as bad as to take point from the the owners hospitality and cosy athmosphere of this nice B&B.

If it wasn't for the shower saga I would have rated this Very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margiola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed at the Whin Park Guest House with 7 other family members for 3 nights while in town for the Loch Ness Marathon (last weekend). Leading up to my stay at the Guest House, I found Mike (the Innkeeper) to be extremely accommodating and patient with my sometimes strange requests. He was very patient with several seemingly ridiculous questions, as I was a first-time overseas traveler.

My husband and I stayed in a triple room with my Mother (2 double beds/1 single bed), and we found the room to be spacious and relatively comfortable. The bed was rather firm, and the pillows flat, but for the 2nd night, we noticed there were several extra pillows left in the room for us, which minimized some of the discomfort for the rest of our stay.

Mike was extremely helpful during our stay--he was always available to call a cab service for us, give us directions, or make suggestions for how to better enjoy our time in Inverness. The breakfast was amazing, with not only cold cereals, juices, and yogurt (plus toppings), but also a plate of hot food made to order (eggs, sausage, bacon, grilled tomatoes & mushrooms, and unlimited toast and tea/coffee). Each room also had its' own hot pot for in-room tea/coffee making, and the biscuits and shortbread were refreshed each day.

My only suggestion is to possibly spruce up the rooms a bit. They are quaint and definitely comfortable, but could maybe use some new bed coverings and a fresh coat of paint here and there.

I would definitely stay at the Whin Park again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joggerslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Honestly, probably slightly overpriced for a 3 star, given we last stayed at a 3 star on the river for this price, but rooms were clean, pleasant and quite which was what was needed..Shower scorching hot, so couldnt stay under it too long..Breaky was great and the service really friendly and very hospitable, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clarissa11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

A very big thank you to the management and staff at the Whin Park Guest House, we read the reviews before we booked, hoping that this would be a nice place to stay to celebrate my 50th Birthday! We were not disappointed, in fact we’ve never stayed in a place that has been so welcoming, warm and friendly, we felt as if we were at home.
We had two double rooms, spotlessly clean, with everything that you would need whilst on holiday.
Breakfast was as good as any 5 star hotel, the selection was plentiful, and served by extremely polite staff.
The location was great, a very short walk to the heart of the city.
There is so much to do and see in and around Inverness, we kept very busy, but will need to go back to complete our list, we will definitely book at the Whin Park in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesnbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Helpful and friendly team, clean room, location closed to the town center. Greate breakfast, full selection, Scottish and continental available.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabellaMalmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The Whinpark Guest House is ideally located in Inverness. Only a short walk (about 5 minutes) along the river to the city center. The staff were very friendly. We stayed in a triple room which was a bit small but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good. Overall great value!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#24 of 35 in Inverness
491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#15 of 35 in Inverness
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.2 mi away
Eskdale Guest House
Eskdale Guest House
#39 of 232 in Inverness
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aberfeldy Lodge Guest House
Aberfeldy Lodge Guest House
#115 of 232 in Inverness
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whin Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whin Park Guest House

Address: 17 Ardross Street, Inverness IV3 5NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £68 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whin Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Whin Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whin Park Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing