We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B with great cake!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of An Grianan

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
An Grianan
Ranked #3 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B with great cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent a weekend in Inverness at the end of October. Terri and Eddie were very friendly and welcoming and had lots of knowledge about the local area, including the best spot for some dolphin watching! It's a very short walk into the centre of town and a good base to explore Loch Ness and the Black Isle. The double room was clean and decorated beautifully. The breakfast was lovely and there was lots of choice. As big tea drinkers, the fresh milk and homemade cake really made it for us! We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back if we're in that part of the country again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LQ-IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    37
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
246
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had to go to Inverness at short notice & found this great B&B on trip advisor. As a solo female traveller I was a little apprehensive but there was no need. Terri & Edwin made me very welcome & immediately I felt at ease. Everything was spotless. The double room was lovely with a very comfy bed. A delicious cake each day freshly made. Lovely breakfast. Good location within easy walking distance of town centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susieb303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We booked a room here for a one night stay in October based on the excellent TripAdvisor reviews. It was everything we could have wanted. Terri was so kind, and welcomed us with DELICIOUS cake and sherry and tons of recommendations of where to eat in Inverness. Our room was large and beautifully furnished, with a spotless and luxurious bathroom. We slept like the dead and woke to a delicious breakfast. Terri and her husband were so warm and welcoming. We would definitely stay here again while in Inverness.

Room Tip: The King Size room is beautiful and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelKim785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked on a weekend filled with newly married and had Ozzie and Harriet twin beds. They were comfortable. The desert that greeted us each day after sight seeing was a treat not to be missed. Sponge cupcakes one day and a coffee flavored two layer cake another day. The breakfast is marvelous with a choice of egg, toast, tea or coffee, cheese platter, fruit and either bacon or sausage helps one start the day off right. The residence is very clean and in easy walking distance of the downtown area. Ask for directions if you are driving in and new to the area as it can be tricky relying on Google maps.

Room Tip: book early to get a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msl50birm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbank, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I booked a room here after reading the praises on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. After booking the room, we received a welcoming email from Terri. We arrived quite early in the morning as we had taken the sleeper train from London the night before. When we arrived our room was ready and we were able to check in right away. The ensuite room was overlooking the garden. There were fresh flowers in the room and every afternoon we were greeted with fresh pastries that Terri made. Although we had a minor glitch with the shower, we were delighted with our stay and would recommend An Grianan to any of our friends and family. We will definitely stay here next time we are in Inverness.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Empress2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

What a wonderful B&B ! Teri and her husband have really put their heart into their business. Our two rooms we filled with fresh flowers, lovely-plush beds, high quality towels and fully stocked coffee/tea trays. Best part: Teri baked a fresh dessert for your room every single day. Breakfast was splendid. I could have stayed in their B&B the entire holiday. Bravo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tex1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lavender bath soap. Magnolia body lotion. Fresh garden roses in the room. Homemade pastry delivered daily for tea time. The most comfortable bed in Scotland! The homey house fragrance of something good in the oven. Full Scottish breakfasts. Central location with a 5 minute walk to restaurants and stores.The genuine welcoming presence and kindness of hosts Eddy and Terry. We felt pampered and fortunate to end our two weeks of travel in Scotland with a three-night stay at An Grianan. Highly recommend. Stay as long as you can.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GileadSandyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#7 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#5 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Grianan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Grianan

Property: An Grianan
Address: 11 Crown Drive, Inverness IV2 3NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — An Grianan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Grianan is an edwardian villa retaining many original features enhanced by modern amenities in all rooms, we are situated 5 mins walk from the centre of Inverness and the rail and bus stations,in the Crown conservation area.Relax in large spacious en suite rooms, each room having a LCD Flat Screen TV with Freeview digital channels.We have free wireless internet access throughout the house if you have a wireless enabled laptop.Enjoy tea, coffee and lovely home baking in your room daily.Loch Ness is about 15 mins drive, with Culloden battlefield approximately 10 mins drive, Eden Court Theatre is 15 mins walk along the riverside and all shops, restaurants and pubs are only 5 mins walk away.We aim to offer a relaxed comfortable stay, the perfect place to return to after a days exploring the Highlanfs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your An Grianan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Grianan Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing