We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!”
Review of An Grianan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
An Grianan
Ranked #5 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Can't rate this accommodation highly enough! Stayed here with my husband and everything was perfection. Warm, welcoming hosts, beautiful house with exquisite accommodation. Fantastic location within short walking distance of town centre. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. Will definitely stay here again when next in Inverness. Have no hesitation in recommending.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

A very pleasant stay! Terri and Eddie were great hosts, very helpful with local information.

The room was large enough, airy and nicely furnished. I only missed a small table or desk for writing. The bathroom was sufficiently large and well equipped. I loved the Nautilus shell, but the colour of the towels was a bit extreme for my tastes. And I am still trying to understand the British penchant for having separate faucets for cold and hot water in the 21st century...

Top location, within walking distance to the town centre (in May 2014 unfortunately disfigured by vast construction works along the Ness) but in a very quiet street. Parking no problem.

Breakfast is at a common table, which is nice if you prefer to have a general conversation rather than (often whispered) separate ones. The option to have (tasty, not dry industrial) croissants was a welcome break from the limited choice of scrambled or fried eggs at most other B&Bs. You will have to committ to a specific breakfast time, but the two hour window is much wider than at many other places. Overall an excellent choice for staying at Inverness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This bed and breakfast was lovely. On a 5min walking distance of the centre of Inverness did we stay at a verry nice place with friendly owners. The room was clean, the breakfast super and at there were a lot of dvds and books with all kind of information at the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a lovely home! Our room was delightful and the breakfast was wonderful. Location is great as we were able to easily walk to town center. The neighborhood was quiet and offered a pleasant nights rest. Terry and Edwin were welcoming and very informative. Regrettably we were only able to stay two nights. We highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggieA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We began our tour of the Highlands at An Grianan, the perfect starting place. Terri and Ed were very hospitable, the breakfasts were excellent, and the room was cozy and clean. Great location. Top-notch in every way!

Bob & Stefanie, Vermont

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefandbob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A lovely Georgia house a short walk from the main street has been made into a great B&B. The rooms were lovely and the host were super friendly. Of the six B&Bs we visited, This was the only one that had a decanter of sherry in the room. It was one of two that offered an evening snack. The lemon loaf was very tasty. Breakfast was great with the addition of fresh fruit and yogurt.
Unlike many Inverness B&Bs, they were willing to accept a single night's booking.
I would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith44562666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 night in This wonderful B&B with our 2 year old daughter.

Terri & Edwin made our stay very enjoyable with their knowledge of the area, great advices, fantastic hospitality, much (much!) patience with our daughter and very yummy breakfasts!

Every evening we came back to a freshly baked cake - different and delicious one, every day!

The location is perfect, just 5 min walk from high street and a variety of restaurants, and on the other hand, in a residential and quiet neighborhood.

We definitely recommend staying here and we'll love to stay here in future vacations in Inverness.

Doron, Shira & Gilad.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Gilad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,780 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#2 of 232 in Inverness
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 232 in Inverness
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Grianan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Grianan

Address: 11 Crown Drive, Inverness IV2 3NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £97 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An Grianan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Grianan is an edwardian villa retaining many original features enhanced by modern amenities in all rooms, we are situated 5 mins walk from the centre of Inverness and the rail and bus stations,in the Crown conservation area.Relax in large spacious en suite rooms, each room having a LCD Flat Screen TV with Freeview digital channels.We have free wireless internet access throughout the house if you have a wireless enabled laptop.Enjoy tea, coffee and lovely home baking in your room daily.Loch Ness is about 15 mins drive, with Culloden battlefield approximately 10 mins drive, Eden Court Theatre is 15 mins walk along the riverside and all shops, restaurants and pubs are only 5 mins walk away.We aim to offer a relaxed comfortable stay, the perfect place to return to after a days exploring the Highlanfs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your An Grianan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Grianan Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing