We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still wonderful”
Review of An Grianan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
An Grianan
Ranked #5 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
brussel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“still wonderful”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed with Terri and Eddie for the 2. time and it was as wonderful as the first ! Quiet residential area, but still in walking distance to town centre and railway/ busstation. Well kept garden and lovely decorated twin room. To be welcomed with home baked cake is always a special treat and the breakfast was simply delightful, so much choice ! I enjoyed sharing the breakfast table with the other guests, more sociable than having the usual small individual breakfast tables. Terri and Eddie are very friendly and helpful. The only drawback is that they don't have a single room so when I recently stayed in Inverness on my own I booked another place. Of course not as nice as An Grianan !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    42
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
267
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

An Grianan is the 5-Star among B&Bs. A beautiful home in a quiet locality located just a short walk from the high-steet. Well appointed rooms with pleasant surprises hidden away in the various drawers and cabinets :). But the absolutely best part is the warm hospitality of the hosts - Terri and Edwin. They make you feel at home. and how can i forget to mention the scrumptious breakfast and delicious cakes! Wish I could spend a few more days at An Grianan...

Room Tip: Room 3 with an en suite bath featuring a large tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Thank you to Terri, the welcome we received and the hospitality provided was superb. An Grianan is located in easy walking distance of Town and provided a most comfortable and pleasant over-night stop

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Absolutely first class, from the moment we arrived Eddie and Terri made us feel very welcome.
It is obvious that this couple take running a B&B to another level from the homemade cake on arrival and providing fresh milk for the tea in the room, no UHT cartons here!
A full brief of the places to visit and the best eating places is given in a leisurely manner from a well informed Eddie, who even made space is his garage for my motorbike, much appreciated.
This B&B is situated a short walk from the centre of the town where there is plenty to see with lovely walks along the river.
The room was spotless and felt like home from home, a fantastic choice of breakfasts was available. We shall definitely stay here when visiting Inverness again and would highly recommend it.. Many Thanks..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petropolis, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Terri was absolutely lovely! And so was Loki,who was in his best behavior!
The room is big and well furnished,with a remark to the bathroom window which had a curtain that was a bit too short.
Breakfast was perfect and varied! The garden is definitely a plus.
The area is safe enough for a woman to walk back to at one am.

Greatly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very friendly, interested and helpful hosts. B&B is a walking distance from centre in a quiet and nice surrounding. Terri welcomed us with delicious muffins and advised the best restaurants in town (The Mustard Seed is absolutely MUST HAVE and do make a reservation for the table on the 2nd floor). Breakfast was very, very good, we stayed in 6 B&B on our trip, so we can compare and assure that Terri will prepare the best cheese selection for you :) Thanks to Eddie for invaluable trip advices. Absolutely perfect!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ieva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konigstein im Taunus, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Everything was very good: the room (nice and clean), the breakfast, the location (near to town center)...
But best were of course Terri and Edwin!
We would stay there again! Thanks fot the nice stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,731 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#1 of 231 in Inverness
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 231 in Inverness
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Grianan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Grianan

Property: An Grianan
Address: 11 Crown Drive, Inverness IV2 3NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — An Grianan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Grianan is an edwardian villa retaining many original features enhanced by modern amenities in all rooms, we are situated 5 mins walk from the centre of Inverness and the rail and bus stations,in the Crown conservation area.Relax in large spacious en suite rooms, each room having a LCD Flat Screen TV with Freeview digital channels.We have free wireless internet access throughout the house if you have a wireless enabled laptop.Enjoy tea, coffee and lovely home baking in your room daily.Loch Ness is about 15 mins drive, with Culloden battlefield approximately 10 mins drive, Eden Court Theatre is 15 mins walk along the riverside and all shops, restaurants and pubs are only 5 mins walk away.We aim to offer a relaxed comfortable stay, the perfect place to return to after a days exploring the Highlanfs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your An Grianan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Grianan Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing