We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub lunch and nice location”
Review of Dores Inn

Dores Inn
Ranked #11 of 260 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good pub lunch and nice location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Really couldn't ask for more - good food, good service, and right by loch ness.
Somehow doesn't feel like too much of a tourist trap, although we did get there early for lunch.
We actually went back for lunch a second day.
It's also possible to walk along the beach and through the woods to a point that looks all the way back up the lake, takes about 20 minutes each way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    429
    126
    39
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dismissive”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Having read some of the reports about the Dores Inn, and having spoken with the owners of Pottery house, which by the way is probably the best B&B we have ever stayed in, we dined at the Inn on two consecutive occasions.

I would have given a better rating if the manager had not been so dismissive and condescending with my complaint.
I received a burger that apart from being dry, was off. Sour taste on first bite and after smelling it, was nothing short of disgusted. He made the remark after having heard my complaint that it was prepared fresh that morning...

Hmmmm...better a good idea to rather apologise, than try to justify an appalling burger.
Was taken off the invoice and my replacement was also not charged for, but to be reminded of this upon presentation of the bill, was just not on.

Staff, in particular need to go for lessons on how to smile, we found them very surly, particularly the younger ones.

They all need to learn customer etiquette.

Chef also needs to wake up, and see that serving off meat is not really conducive to a good reputation. Sorry, wont go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visited Dores on a Globus tour! Location was fabulous not to mention the quaintness of the Inn. Enjoyed listening to the locales and milling about. We didn't eat there but a couple of drinks were included with this excursion. I was introduced to Irn-bru!, an awesome Scottish soft drink. Wish it was sold in the United States.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pub, great food!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I love this place, it has so much character, the location is beautiful and we were there on a lovely evening so managed to eat our dinner out on the patio over looking the Loch. The food was so good, I had the salmon and crab salad to start with which was delicious and the homemade burger which was great. My partner had the steak and said it was the best steak he had eaten for ages. We will definitely go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank katie_630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful location ...great pub food!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't have reservations but as it was just before dinner time they managed to fit us in. The haddock and steak were very good considering this a pub. Desserts were above standards for a pub, the chocolate cake was made in house as I could smell it baking when we arrived...certainly not to be missed! There is no better location...just by the lake so be prepared for your pictures!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dores Inn also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Dores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing