We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dores Inn

Dores Inn
Ranked #9 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Bar, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Food was very good and well priced, keeping a very homely/ traditional feel which was perfect for our needs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    877
    401
    115
    33
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Magical spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stopped in for a drink and a visit to the spot where you can step right up to the shore of Loch Ness, and where it (sort of) begins on the north end. There is a small beach, and it's incredibly evocative, with the waves of the famous lake lapping up at your feet. A family of ducks adds to the charm. Inside the bar is a typical pub, with cozy charm, and the restaurant was full (and people were waiting) for dinner... we were just passing through, and din't have dinner, just drinks, but found the staff super friendly and helpful. The barmaid made a great suggestion when she heard where we were headed (and she was right about her suggestion being a spectacular place)... the place is a gem, and is surrounded by beauty in every direction.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

we came across this Inn and went inside to see if we could get a drink and something to eat. There were empty tables but when we asked if we could get a table was told no there was nothing available. Not very impressed so thank goodness we came across the Waterfall Café in Foyers where the service was excellent and we were made to feel welcome .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LezzaHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small but Great Whiskey selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Boyfriend LOVED the selection of Whiskeys in offer as well as all the other drinks. Personally I thought it was a little crowed in the bar area if you just came in for a drink - not the comfiest or most welcoming Pub I've ever been in to.

Food however looked amazing! Definitely will be back to try some of the meals :)

Next to Dores Beach which is a great little area for a walk or paddle in Loch Ness!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeekieBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had booked a table and were shown to one inside on the strength of reviews on here but arriving on a beautiful Summer's evening and having a toddler, it suited us much better to sit outside. The outside tables are in an unimaginative space with a concrete floor but the area opens out onto a large grassy area where people can prop themselves up and eat and drink with wonderful views of Loch Ness, and our toddler was only too happy running around - you need to base yourself at an outdoor table if you're going to order food to then be able to have your meal standing on the grassy area. So, before the food even arrived we were very much at home enjoying an interesting range of beers in glorious surroundings with our baby running around.

The food is "pub grub" rather than fine dining, which suits its informal and relaxed atmosphere, and we were very pleased with what we ordered. The "award winning" haggis was good, very good in fact, but what set it apart was the grainy mustard sauce. Wow! For people who have never had haggis, try it here and you won't be disappointed. My wife had a burger that was so meaty that she was too busy eating to have any conversation apart from "this burger is awesome" - the best burger she's ever had apparently. It was so good that we went back the next night and weren't disappointed - I had the burger this time and she had the haggis so I can't comment on the rest of the food but the haggis, burgers and beers are fantastic. And best of all, it was all very reasonably priced.

To sum up, the Dores Inn is a kid-friendly old fashioned pub the way village pubs should be with great food and a stunning location. It is ideal for families with kids or groups of mates. Other points of interest might be that The Nessie Hunter van is in the car park and there is a pebble beach and a play park almost within view of the eating area. There's also a wooded area that makes for a nice circular walk of a couple of hours that starts and ends at the inn and is a good way to work up an appetite. Come hungry!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank losmochileros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dores Inn also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Dores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing