We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique in Inverness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Inverness
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique in Inverness”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

As a regular user of the Ramada Encore, like others I was curious to see the transformation when it became the Penta hotel. This was a rebrand with attitude! The transformation is incredible, like stepping into an American diner style environment. It is upbeat and exciting.

I organise a monthly lunch and the standard of food is as high as ever. This week Jaime prepared our menu but left it to Shaun to deliver it and he didn't disappoint. The sweet potato soup was very creamy and the sauce on the chicken had just that touch of tang to make it different.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCadboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Peter


Thanks so much for your 5* review! It’s great to receive your positive feedback and it’s always a pleasure to have you all at the pentahotel Inverness.

We hope to see you all again soon.


Kind regards


Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    424
    257
    113
    64
See reviews for
119
451
81
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
503 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

When you're in the Highlands, you'd imagine staying in local B&Bs or quaint country retreat hotels. Well, PentaHotel is neither. Situated in the heart of Inverness' city centre close too all cafes, restaurants & bars (ideal for business people & only approximately 20mins drive from Inverness Airport), it is a hotel which offers a unique experience in many ways. One such example, is the fact that as you walk in, you're greeted by a funky, chic bar area which doubles up as the reception area and dining room. It is perfect use of space, designed well, is inviting, cosy and definitely enticing (their drink prices are very reasonable!).

The staff are wonderful - a warm welcome, friendly, helpful and exactly what you'd expect from Highland hospitality.

The only tiny issue I had with my stay, was the fact that I found the rooms to be tiny and quite bare. They have all the basics, but no more. I didn't find the room to be particularly inviting, warm or cosy. I think they need to add some finer finishing touches to their rooms (as they did downstairs) & it would be quite perfect :) The rooms are clean however, with the beds comfortable.

Breakfast is served from 0430am - and the spread put on is splendid! There was everything from selections of fruit platters, cheeses, cold meats, breads, salmon, pastries, bagels, muffins, cereals, yoghurts and hot breakfasts (including omelettes, full-english & more on request) - it is faultless! The breakfast is area is comfortable and again, superbly designed/decorated.

I can highly recommend the hotel and will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very proud of our hard working team and we continue to look for new ways to improve our service for our guests.

The new 'pentalounge' has been very popular; it’s a great place to relax. Thank you also for the special mention you gave our extensive breakfast!

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay here - I'd probably rate four and a half! The hotel is centrally-located and very easy to find from the A9 or A82.
The ground floor set-up is unusual, modern and "funky" but very welcoming. The large central bar includes the reception desk. Behind it is the breakfast/ restaurant area (plus an outside decked area for warmer days than ours), then a relaxing lounge area with lots of squashy sofas, pool table and "library".
Our room was on the 5th (top) floor and looked exactly like the publicity photos. We had a good view over the rooftops to the Moray Firth. It was great to be able to open the window, but there was no traffic noise when closed. The room was quite compact, with little room for unpacking - just a rail with a few hangers. However, I imagine most people are only staying for a couple of days or for business so more is unnecessary. There was a large TV - about 42 inches - and free wifi.
The bathroom was fine, but really a wetroom. And it certainly did get wet, especially when my husband showered! Not the best drainage, but a very good shower otherwise.
Breakfast was excellent. Buffet-style, but such a huge choice of fruit, yogurts, cereals, bread and pastries, cheese and cold meats, pancakes etc. Hot options too, but I never got as far as those. Very friendly staff keeping everything filled-up - in fact all staff were great.
One downside is the lack of parking, although we knew that. There is a multi-storey not far away. Free on Sundays and not too busy then, but quite full when we arrived on the Saturday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarJonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. The new look 'pentalounge' has received positive feedback.

We hope to invite you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We had a group booking of 4 double rooms, lovely clean rooms with all the usual facilities. Could not fault this hotel. Great central location. Quirky bar area. Would recommend and will definitely book again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Freedom_ofSpeech999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Laylia

Thank you so much for your positive review. Our refurbishment was complete on the 21st March when we re-branded the hotel. The feedback we have received regarding the new 'pentalounge' has been excellent and we really appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts.

I hope you will have another opportunity to visit us soon.

Kind regards

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Check in at the bar, why not, efficient use of space and staff. Public areas well thought out and segregated. They are nicely and stylishly finished with comfortable furnishings and plenty of hanging fabrics and soft furnishings which absorb noise contributing to a pleasant atmosphere. Breakfast offered a good choice of quality produce, staff a little overwhelmed perhaps at times in replenishing bowls, hot water etc, always pleasant though when asked. Rooms decent enough, clean and comfortable with perhaps a Scandinavian feel, higher ones have nice views. Nice big TV's including some free on demand content, movies etc. Will definitely stay here again if in town.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IanH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ian

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are very proud of our hard working team and we continue to look for new ways to improve our service for our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Ideal location, 5 minutes walk from the railway station. Funky bar area (where you check in), comfortable sofas to lounge on, great chill out music. What's not to like? Room was slightly small but had the bonus of windows that open (fresh air)! Bathroom was compact and shower did not have great power but towels were lovely and thick. Nice toiletries too. Best thing I think was breakfast!! Wow! Fantastic selection of fresh fruit, yogurts, juice, prosecco!, cooked items, and bean to cup coffee machine. Pastries were an absolute delight, fresh bread and rolls, cereals - all to the background of great music. Staff were friendly and efficient too. Worth a visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank blackeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks very much for your lovely review.

I will share your feedback with the team, they will be delighted!

Since opening on 21st March our breakfast has been rated highly, there is a great range to choose from.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Inverness.

Kind regards

Ina Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

this place is great. awesome bar and lounge area. free pool table, free use of the ps4. staff are really friendly and ave some good chat. Ruslan is a sound guy who makes you feel welcome. all the staff do.

will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Ian G

Thanks so much for your 5* review.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. Our staff take great pride in their work and very much appreciate your feedback. Ruslan is especially delighted with his mention!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Highlands of Scotland again soon.

Sincerely,
Ina Davies,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
1,110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Inverness

Property: pentahotel Inverness
Address: 63 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Inverness
#9 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#14 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From our beautifully central location on Academy Street, pentahotel Inverness is your perfect base for a perfect stay in the capital of the Scottish Highlands. Shops, attractions, historic sites and the knockout northern beauty of our landscape are all here, waiting for you. And of course there’s no escaping the famous Nessie, our rarely spotted but very important local celebrity. You never know, he might be staying with us at the same time as you. Autograph opportunity… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Inverness Hotel Inverness
Pentahotel Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing