We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
pentahotel Inverness
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Party of 2, part of a group, 4 nights, dinner and breakfast, last week of May 2014. Hotel is conveniently located close to Inverness St. Such is the general presentation and lack of 'Scottishness' that it could be located at the back of Kings Cross London or Lower Manhattan. Totally without any character. Upon entering, we though we were in a disco, suitable for 15+ teenagers, such was the loudness and overblown bass thump emanating from the loudspeakers. This noise, despite best efforts to have the sound turned down and the bass level reduced, permeated and spoilt every meal, so much so that on the final evening, we could not tolerate any more time in the hotel restaurant. In the hotel brochure, it states that 'nobody works harder than Penta hotels, to make sure that the ambience is perfect for our guests'. Hotel brochure depicts photos of 25 year olds. In reality there were no 15 year olds or 25 year old yuppies to be seen during our stay. There were a few business people and non business people, and altogether the age profile of guests averaged 40-50. Upon complaining about the noise, I was told that the music content and volume was controlled from Germany! If Inverness turned it down, Germany would turn it back up, In summary, public areas of the hotel, despite a nicely laid out breakfast bar and reasonably produced food, were completely ruined. Many of the group that we accompanied, agreed wholeheartedly with these comments. Rooms - pleasantly modern, but completely lacking enclosed cupboard space, shelves and drawers, and suitable racks for luggage. Thus we were living out of suitcase and we unable to properly store our clothes. Bathroom shower, whilst non-slip flooring needed a safety grab handle. Also no soap dish. Impossible to reach the toilet paper whilst seated, as holder was behind the toilet. Complimentary water and toiletries were appreciated, as was large screen tv.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review of our Inverness hotel and I'm sorry to hear you encountered some issues during your stay.

I am sorry we did not offer to alter the volume and lighting for you, this is a simple operation and should have been carried out at your request. I will ensure the team are made aware of this to avoid this happening in the future.

I hope that you will consider a stay with us again and we can show you an enjoyable stay. If you would like to discuss your feedback with me personally please do call the hotel directly.

Kind regards

Ina Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived here to see a totally different hotel to the one we expected, having been when it was the Ramada Encore. The public area has gone all boutique-like with trendy exposed beams etc, black decor, reception as part of the bar, etc. While disconcerting at first, it really does work and was great for our short break. The breakfasts were excellent and the room was very good. Definitely worth a stay. The one down-side is the lack of car parking nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Colin

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our new look.

We are very proud of our hard working team and we continue to look for new ways to improve our service for our guests. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ina Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wow, we arrived here in April and was shocked as we walked in. We had no idea the hotel had been taken over by another company and completely refurbished, we'd booked while it was still The Ramada Encore. The hotel was lovely and modern and the rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The breakfast selection was great! Best breakfast I'd had in a long time, it was exactly to my taste. Only problem we found was that there is no parking around the hotel. There are car parks around but nothing directly at the hotel Other than that, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustAnotherIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear valued guest

Thanks for your great comments relating to your stay with us. We are delighted you especially enjoyed the new 'pentalounge'.

Car parking is nearby (just 4 minutes’ walk) at the Rose Street car park and the charges are very reasonable at £4 for 24 hours.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Ina Davies,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I love this hotel! We stayed here for four nights as a base for a short tour of the Highlands.
Many positive things have been said about the breakfast, rooms and location and I would echo them all. Rather than add more of the same I would highlight the staff. All staff members encountered had an incredibly positive attitude and clearly took pride in what they were doing. From a special egg order through extra crispy bacon and a pile of left luggage everything was executed flawlessly with a cheerfullnes which made me want to apply for a job to join the team.
After two nights my wife articulated our thoughts 'nothing seems too much trouble here'; amen to that!. Returning to the hotel after a hard day sightseeing to a cheery greeting was always a pleasure. Also great to see the manager mucking in at the coal face at busy times.
We cannot thank the staff enough for perfecting our stay. We will be back in Inverness and will only stay at the Pentahotel.
Ps. Although the hotel was full we found that the bedrooms were very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Phil C

Thank you for your 5* review, it was our pleasure to look after you both!

We appreciate you sharing your experience and I enjoyed chatting with you both.

We are looking forward to seeing you next time you visit the Highlands.

Kind regards

Ina Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a clean refurbished hotel in the centre of Inverness. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. The only reservation is the absence of wardrobes or drawers (clothes must all reside on a horizontal pole).The buffet breakfast is good.

There is no parking at the hotel but there is a large multi story car park two or three minutes walk away

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 848Happilyretired848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear valued guest

Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Unfortunately, we do not have a car park. Rose Street is located just 4 minutes away; the charge for 24 hours is £4.00.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Ina Davies,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I'll start with the positive. The included breakfast is fantastic. I've eaten a lot of complimentary hotel breakfasts and this one goes above and beyond. The lobby is very chic with disco ball, bar, pool table, lounge area, etc. although the scented smoke was a bit much.

The rooms are clean and reasonably spacious (by UK standards). Although they just have the basics and nothing more: no dresser, no facecloth, no ironing table, etc. although the TV was a good size.

The location is very good being within a skirt walk of all touristy things and restaurants.There is a grocery store right next door as well.

However, the place was very disorganized. For example, I asked for 2 extra pillows in the morning and came back that evening to find none. I called the front desk and was brought up a pillow, but only 1 and not the 2 I had requested twice.

We were told that the tour company only registered us for 2 nights, not 3. This was quickly remedied with a call to the tour company but gave us a start.

Worse yet, we dropped off our laundry the day before we left and they forgot to pick it up. We got it but not until the next morning 10 minutes before our tour bus left. What a panic.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our highland hotel. We welcome all feedback from our guests and our team work hard to continually improve our guests experience and visit to Inverness.

We were delighted to read your comments regarding breakfast and the new 'pentalounge'.
I am extremely sorry we did not react to your request in an efficient manner; this is something we will address with the team.

We do hope we can welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards

Ina Davies,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I visited this hotel recently on a business trip to Inverness. On arrival, I was looking for the reception, as I was in the bar area, but this was in fact reception too! The staff were very helpful though and explained where my room was, where dinner and breakfast was served and showed me to the lifts. On arrival in my room, it was a Pentaplus room, complete with bathrobe and slippers! The room was very tastefully decorated with a modern twist. I ordered room service (not a lot of choice though) but when the food came it was delicious. The only downside is that due to it being right in the city centre, there is no parking on site, which means you need to park in the nearby multi storey car park (which is reasonably priced) and walk through the bus station ( I wouldn't like to do thison my own though when its dark at night). Overall though, this hotel is well worth a visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ModGirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Modgirl

Thank you very much for the wonderful review! Its fantastic to read your feedback.

We are extremely proud of our new 'pentalounge', and delighted you love it!

As we are a city centre hotel, we don't have any car parking on site. However, Rose Street car park is just 4 minutes walk and the charges are very reasonable at £4 for 24 hours.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Ina Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#31 of 36 in Inverness
1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 36 in Inverness
1,916 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#15 of 36 in Inverness
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Inverness

Address: 63 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Inverness
#9 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#14 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £51 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From our beautifully central location on Academy Street, pentahotel Inverness is your perfect base for a perfect stay in the capital of the Scottish Highlands. Shops, attractions, historic sites and the knockout northern beauty of our landscape are all here, waiting for you. And of course there’s no escaping the famous Nessie, our rarely spotted but very important local celebrity. You never know, he might be staying with us at the same time as you. Autograph opportunity… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Inverness Hotel Inverness
Pentahotel Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing