We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location great but hotel could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
pentahotel Inverness
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location great but hotel could do better”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The reception area gives a very trendy vibe and has a good selection of drinks (an extra bonus having free pool).

The room was average, the double bed would not have been big enough for two. The bathroom was clean but needed re-tiled. The shower was a bad design as I had to put a towel down to save the water running into the main bedroom. Saying that, the room was big, windows let in plenty fresh air and had a great selection of movies on the TV.

The price of food was extortionate for what was served (approx £13 for a pizza/£11.50 for a sandwich).

I would stay here again, given the handy location and decent room but would not spend any money on food/drink in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0m_Y22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our highland hotel.

We welcome all feedback from our guests and our team work hard to continually improve our guests experience and visit to Inverness.

We do hope we can welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    404
    240
    107
    62
See reviews for
112
426
77
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Everything about this Pentahotels is average except there is no lobby and check-in is at the bar. I found it to be a little overpriced for the quality of the furnishings, service and other minor things, like very average complimentary toiletries. As others have mentioned, the breakfast is quite nice, with a wide selection, an espresso machine and large array of Twinings teas. Location is good.

Other than a good breakfast and a central location, this hotel is quite ordinary and not worth the higher cost.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Twice_the_Money
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and use all feedback to continually improve our customer service and guest experience.

We do hope we can welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Party of 2, part of a group, 4 nights, dinner and breakfast, last week of May 2014. Hotel is conveniently located close to Inverness St. Such is the general presentation and lack of 'Scottishness' that it could be located at the back of Kings Cross London or Lower Manhattan. Totally without any character. Upon entering, we though we were in a disco, suitable for 15+ teenagers, such was the loudness and overblown bass thump emanating from the loudspeakers. This noise, despite best efforts to have the sound turned down and the bass level reduced, permeated and spoilt every meal, so much so that on the final evening, we could not tolerate any more time in the hotel restaurant. In the hotel brochure, it states that 'nobody works harder than Penta hotels, to make sure that the ambience is perfect for our guests'. Hotel brochure depicts photos of 25 year olds. In reality there were no 15 year olds or 25 year old yuppies to be seen during our stay. There were a few business people and non business people, and altogether the age profile of guests averaged 40-50. Upon complaining about the noise, I was told that the music content and volume was controlled from Germany! If Inverness turned it down, Germany would turn it back up, In summary, public areas of the hotel, despite a nicely laid out breakfast bar and reasonably produced food, were completely ruined. Many of the group that we accompanied, agreed wholeheartedly with these comments. Rooms - pleasantly modern, but completely lacking enclosed cupboard space, shelves and drawers, and suitable racks for luggage. Thus we were living out of suitcase and we unable to properly store our clothes. Bathroom shower, whilst non-slip flooring needed a safety grab handle. Also no soap dish. Impossible to reach the toilet paper whilst seated, as holder was behind the toilet. Complimentary water and toiletries were appreciated, as was large screen tv.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review of our Inverness hotel and I'm sorry to hear you encountered some issues during your stay.

I am sorry we did not offer to alter the volume and lighting for you, this is a simple operation and should have been carried out at your request. I will ensure the team are made aware of this to avoid this happening in the future.

I hope that you will consider a stay with us again and we can show you an enjoyable stay. If you would like to discuss your feedback with me personally please do call the hotel directly.

Kind regards

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived here to see a totally different hotel to the one we expected, having been when it was the Ramada Encore. The public area has gone all boutique-like with trendy exposed beams etc, black decor, reception as part of the bar, etc. While disconcerting at first, it really does work and was great for our short break. The breakfasts were excellent and the room was very good. Definitely worth a stay. The one down-side is the lack of car parking nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Colin

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our new look.

We are very proud of our hard working team and we continue to look for new ways to improve our service for our guests. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wow, we arrived here in April and was shocked as we walked in. We had no idea the hotel had been taken over by another company and completely refurbished, we'd booked while it was still The Ramada Encore. The hotel was lovely and modern and the rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The breakfast selection was great! Best breakfast I'd had in a long time, it was exactly to my taste. Only problem we found was that there is no parking around the hotel. There are car parks around but nothing directly at the hotel Other than that, we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustAnotherIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear valued guest

Thanks for your great comments relating to your stay with us. We are delighted you especially enjoyed the new 'pentalounge'.

Car parking is nearby (just 4 minutes’ walk) at the Rose Street car park and the charges are very reasonable at £4 for 24 hours.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Ina Davies,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I love this hotel! We stayed here for four nights as a base for a short tour of the Highlands.
Many positive things have been said about the breakfast, rooms and location and I would echo them all. Rather than add more of the same I would highlight the staff. All staff members encountered had an incredibly positive attitude and clearly took pride in what they were doing. From a special egg order through extra crispy bacon and a pile of left luggage everything was executed flawlessly with a cheerfullnes which made me want to apply for a job to join the team.
After two nights my wife articulated our thoughts 'nothing seems too much trouble here'; amen to that!. Returning to the hotel after a hard day sightseeing to a cheery greeting was always a pleasure. Also great to see the manager mucking in at the coal face at busy times.
We cannot thank the staff enough for perfecting our stay. We will be back in Inverness and will only stay at the Pentahotel.
Ps. Although the hotel was full we found that the bedrooms were very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Phil C

Thank you for your 5* review, it was our pleasure to look after you both!

We appreciate you sharing your experience and I enjoyed chatting with you both.

We are looking forward to seeing you next time you visit the Highlands.

Kind regards

Ina Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a clean refurbished hotel in the centre of Inverness. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. The only reservation is the absence of wardrobes or drawers (clothes must all reside on a horizontal pole).The buffet breakfast is good.

There is no parking at the hotel but there is a large multi story car park two or three minutes walk away

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 848Happilyretired848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear valued guest

Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Unfortunately, we do not have a car park. Rose Street is located just 4 minutes away; the charge for 24 hours is £4.00.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Ina Davies,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 34 in Inverness
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Inverness

Property: pentahotel Inverness
Address: 63 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Inverness
#9 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#14 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From our beautifully central location on Academy Street, pentahotel Inverness is your perfect base for a perfect stay in the capital of the Scottish Highlands. Shops, attractions, historic sites and the knockout northern beauty of our landscape are all here, waiting for you. And of course there’s no escaping the famous Nessie, our rarely spotted but very important local celebrity. You never know, he might be staying with us at the same time as you. Autograph opportunity… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Inverness Hotel Inverness
Pentahotel Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing