We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facility and great value. A pleasant stay.”
Review of Springburn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Springburn Lodge
Ranked #84 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
beijing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good facility and great value. A pleasant stay.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in twin room with shared bathroom. We like the space of the room, the good quality of the facility and abundant breakfast.

The owners were alway busy, especially the man. Seems he also runned a travel group during the day we stayed, arranged the hike, the dinner and breakfast for those guests. This is different from the B&Bs we stayed before, more like a hotel runned by a family. Although no much converstation between us and the owners, it didn't bother us enjoying the stay. The town Beauly is also beautiful and quiet for having couple hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fengzhisiyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    28
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
70
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

This place is lovely. You walk in and are drawn in by the amazing mix of Spanish and Scottish design. Rooms are big and spotlessly clean, with nice balconies.

Unfortunately the place itself does all the work if I may say so. We booked 4 rooms in a 7room guest house, for 3-4 nights. What we received in return was, no polite welcoming, no one there to show us to our rooms, but the maid cleaning them, no owners to talk to, if we had any questions, no one to serve us a soda if needed one. And we did need one as the town was a good 15 mins walk. No hot water late mornings, early afternoon even though the place was fully booked and we were there for a wedding.(This happened everyday and no one told us why). Messing up our whole schedule due to no hot water, in a 4-5* b&b it's unacceptable.

 The feeling they gave me is that they did not want us there in their home. Well dear owners, if you're not comfortable with having people around your house and make them feel welcome then don't put your rooms up for sale. You can't possibly be in the hospitality business, when you lack customer service and  you can't even show your guests to their rooms and show them the facilities your place has to offer. We had to find out for ourselves that there's a pool, a chapel, etc. In the 4 days we stayed there and do bare in mind it's a small lodge so quite intimate, no one came once to ask us how our stay was. So I'll share it with you, Tripadvisor: the stay was so awkward, with no smiling face around, if felt like I was intruding. What's even more shocking is that not even when we complained to the owner did we get an apology, or any signs of regret for how we had been treated.

I wish I could say I'd like to return, because the place is worth every penny. If only the service was better and guests treated as guests..

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KatrinaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked in for 4 nights for a local wedding there in beauly and on first impressions the hotel was 'wow' factor. Great location, great rooms and a fantastic pool house and jacuzzi. Everything was great even the breakfast (Choice of full English, cereals, toast etc)
However on the first morning (Day of the wedding) We found there was no hot water at all and none of us could get ready!! The owners had gone out and we were told by the solitary cleaner that they were not back till the evening. To be fair to the cleaner she was an absolute angel the whole 4 days and she actually saved our stay from being a complete nightmare and was so very helpful with what she could. We had to wait for an hour and a half for hot water which resulted in us having to get a taxi (extra money) into town. Unfortunately this happened the next two days as well.....no hot water yet again and had to wait up to and hour and a half!! Shocking for any hotel. The worse part is we had no apology from the owners even when we checked out and I demanded a discount to cover our taxi costs. The fact that the owners were never there or accessible was just appalling to me and my family and partner. At one point a little girl who's age was no more than 12 was helping us book a taxi, I can only assume this was the couples daughter. Completely unacceptable. There were soft drinks available which we could also never get as nobody was around to serve us. I find it amazing that such a fantastic place where a lot of hard work has clearly gone into can be let down by such poor customer service and lack of caring to the customers staying. The Hot water incidents were just totally unacceptable.

To summarise, a great lodge with great rooms, facilities and breakfast and also a great cleaner who made our stay as pleasant as it could be. In my opinion she should be running the lodge and not the couple in charge as they clearly do not understand the values of making their guests feel warm and welcome.

Big shame

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elroachcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Having stayed here for 4 nights recently with my husband, I have to say we were impressed. Good location, near to wonderful little village of Beauly but still secluded enough for a peaceful holiday. The rooms were of a very good standard and nicely decorated. We had a comfortable bed and a large balcony. The owner was helpful, giving us information regarding things to do and the breakfast was also good. The only thing I would want to change is to have a more traditional Scottish breakfast on offer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dub4920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Hi Trip-Goers,

Stayed here a couple of month back with my girlfriend and couldn't recommend it highly enough. The building (not that old building in that photograph) was gorgeous, just recently built. Our room was spacious with a lovely en-suite and a balcony big enough to play baseball. Our bed was a huge sleigh bed with the softest duvet and a comfortable mattress.

There was a pool which we had pretty much to ourselves which was a nice addition to this quaint little B&B. We spoke to to proprietor who was nice and couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was nice, either a full cooked buffet or continental.

Overall very pleased with my stay here, Beauly as a town doesn't have a lot going on except a few little pubs with log fires which was nice. Only a stones throw from Inverness we enjoyed our night here and would return.

Enjoy,

Nick

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5CardNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at a lot of B&B's during our road trip around Scotland, and this one was not our favorite, but definitely not bad at all. I'm giving it an "average" because in comparison to a lot out there, this one isn't above par. The hosts weren't very friendly, they slipped away into their side of the house at every opportunity, and weren't the nicest we met.

The place was nice and rooms modern, breakfast okay, shower was crazy (ask for directions or you might soak the entire bathroom) and grounds were very beautiful. I loved the outdoor area, there was a pool and a tiny chapel and a little creek. Inside it was clean, but the pillows and blankets were if-y and it smelled a little funny. We stayed in the main house (the lodge) and had trouble sleeping because we could hear the people in the next room very clearly. So, the walls are quite thin. If they had been friendlier, I could've overlooked everything else. We didn't get a proper "hello" or "goodbye", which just didn't seem true to a B&B. I just want to be honest! But the place was pretty, for sure.

Room Tip: Inquire about an en-suite with a balcony, the views were STUNNING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenzierayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This was really very good value for money. The rooms are old fashioned but very comfortable and the shared bathrooms are not a major problem at the price. Breakfast was a very high standard and we could have used the pool if we had wanted. A mile from Beauly so we had a lovely walk to The Priory Hotel for an excellent evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
1.1 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
139 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ornum House
Ornum House
#3 of 10 in Beauly
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hillview Park
Hillview Park
#4 of 10 in Muir of Ord
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Advie Lodge
Advie Lodge
#18 of 45 in Inverness
6 reviews
1.9 mi away
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Muir of Ord
105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chrialdon House
Chrialdon House
#2 of 10 in Beauly
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springburn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springburn Lodge

Property: Springburn Lodge
Address: Windhill | Beauly, Inverness IV4 7AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Springburn Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Springburn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springburn Lodge Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing