We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Got a good deal through Otel (Trivago) £105 per couple B & B
Staff lovely , very attentive.
Rooms very nice, especially bathroom - spotless. Groundfloor room, so didnt want to risk leaving window open and think others might think same as dampness round window frames, hate to see mould.
Breakfast excellent, cooked to order, try the porridge.
Bit chintzy but immaculate lounge.
Dinner menu looked a bit expensive and fishy so we went into town to eat. Recommend The Kitchen and The Mustard Seed.
Pity they dont have leisure facilities as it might bring more custom midweek.
Would definately return (if the price was right)

Room Tip: Try Hotel comparison sites Trivago or Travel Supermarket for better prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalefan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

Attended a wedding here on a Friday afternoon, as well as staying. Excellent Staff who all where very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quiny927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This is a nice hotel with slightly extravagant decor (thoroughly enjoyable), with good facilities and an excellent breakfast. The downside is just that the location is out of town and therefore if you wish to dine anywhere else than the hotel, you have to drive or take a taxi.

Because of the location I would have perhaps expected to pay a little less.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111111_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Outside of Inverness, nothing else within walking, so a car probably the best idea. Lovely rooms, updated, clean, comfortable. Lovely food and service in the restaurant. This is a fairly pricey place, so considered a bit of a splurge. Definitely recommended if you are okay with the cost. Internet only available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UltraClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We were very much looking forward to our one night stay as we had not been away for 2 years. The website as expected gave the impression of a hotel where service and quality are of a very high standard. Indeed Tripadvisor reviews seemed to concur with this impression. It is where we held our wedding reception in July 1997, so this was an obvious attraction. Since then it was taken over by Macdonald hotels and re-launched in 2004.

In many respects the New Drumossie has a lot going for it. It is in a lovely, quiet position above the southern suburbs of Inverness and our room and the hotel generally are very clean. Indeed our room was upgraded when we mentioned our wedding. This was a good start but being told that we need to carry our own bags to our room in a 4 star hotel is not what we expected. It would also have been a nice touch if tea/coffee in the lounge had been offered at this point. Such touches are the mark of a quality hotel and given how eerily quiet the place was when we arrived mid-afternoon; surely not too much to ask.

The bedroom was superbly appointed with a large bathroom and plenty of space and a very comfortable bed. We slept very well and really only have praise for it.

Things were therefore definitely looking up. Until, however, we arrived in the lounge for a pre-dinner drink. On placing our dinner order and deciding not to choose starters we were told that our main courses would therefore be later in being ready. Still don't grasp the logic of that one but it seemed almost a punishment for not ordering starters.

Our mains turned out to be very good indeed with very tasty lamb which we thoroughly enjoyed. However the dining experience was spoiled by disastrous dry bread-rolls which had a strange layered texture as if they were made from a catering ready-mix. Furthermore a side knife had a large finger-print at the top of the blade and there was no decaffeinated coffee available. Strangely it is available in the bedroom.

In brief this hotel has the potential to be extremely good if it can sort out these matters. It is furnished and appointed to a high standard and the staff are pleasant and helpful when asked. However, several important details are letting it down and making us feel disinclined to return. These could all be rectified with some training and sourcing of good rolls and ground decaf coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinandMairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. Hotel itself is generally nice.
However we did have a few challenges. Hotel is overpriced given it has no facilities to speak of.
Wifi in rooms not working although advertises it has this and one of the reasons we chose the hotel. Quote from staff "it doesn't reach the rooms but it works in the lounge" good way of getting guests to use lounge and in turn purchase drinks etc?
No leisure facilities at all. Birds nesting in roof space and wall space, doesn't make for a good nights sleep.
Macdonald hotels need to rethink charging on average £140 for a double room at this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianBParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

When I booked it said 10 mins from city centre, but when I checked again it was 10 mins by car. However that was my fault, it did mean a taxi every time we ventured out, at £8 a trip this mounts up. It was still cheaper than eating in the hotel, the dinner menu was very pricey £24 for a steak and that was before you added potatoes or veg.
Apart from that it is a lovely hotel, we were given a ground floor room which was very well done out, good shower and bath. Very good selection of teas, lovely biscuits and bottled water.
Breakfast was very good, but I do think it is excessive to charge extra for a kipper or smoked salmon. Staff were very obliging and service was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for an accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,849 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 36 in Inverness
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £64 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing