We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here over the May Bank Hoiliday weekend and found the hotel very quiet and relaxing. Breakfasts were good and we had booked a spring deal which included the dinner at night. The food was excedllent and even though we were on a set menu the choices changed over the two nights so we did not have to have the same meal each night. Richard was very attentive in the restaurant but the same cannot be said for the rest of the staff. We found it very difficult to order drinks etc in the lounge either before or after dinner as staff seemed conspicuous by their absence especially on the Sunday when there was a small wedding and they seemed to gravitate to it which rather spoiled anotherwise pleasant weekend. Our room was on the ground floor looking out onto the parkland to the rear of the hotel and was very comfortable and spacious. While the food etc was excellent the hotel is outside Inverness on the main road south and may be a bit remote for some people who would want to eat in Inverness itself rather than the hotel. Only other down side is the lack of leisure and spa facilities. While we did not need them as the weather was glorious and we were out and away each morning if the weather is bad the lack of swimming pool etc at a four star hotel may be off putting for some when there are other excellent hotels of the same quality in Inverness with these facilities. Plenty of room to build one though!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    162
    83
    34
    14
See reviews for
94
256
15
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Currently on my way home after a 2 night stay with my partner very sad to be going home as we had a very pleasant stay here. Staff were very welcoming and nice, the rooms very spacious and clean. We never ate at the restaurant for dinner so can't comment on the food but we did eat breakfast which was fantastic! It was cooked perfectly and of great quality! I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights on DBB for the first 2 nights. The food quality was excellent both for breakfast and evening meal and we chose to stay in the hotel restaurant on the 3rd night. Richard was very hospitable and nothing was too much trouble for him or any of the staff. The chef came out to canvas opinion on the food which i found a nice touch from someone who was clearly proud of the produce that left his kitchen. The rooms were clean and comfortable and well decorated. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed at TND for 4 nights this week on a DBB arrangement. My wife, son and myself were looking for a relaxing break and that's what we got. The room we stayed in was comfortable, well serviced and clean. The staff were attentive and pleasant, happy to have a chat and give advice and recommendations for the local area. The highlight though was the standard of food, breakfast was excellent but dinner was fantastic, each night we commented how they would not be able to match it the next night but each night they did just that. I'm no food critic but I think I know when the food presented is a cut above. The restaurant staff were very polite and efficient and when asked, the chef, Kenny, took the time to come out to discuss one of the dishes with us.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a lovely hotel a little way out of the city of Inverness.
Good sized rooms with very good bathrooms. The restaurant is top notch and the breakfasts are some of the best we have had staying in many hotels.
I would most certainly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Spent two nights here and loved every minute,The girls on reception were lovely both when we arrived and when we were leaving.The food in the restaurant ticked every box and Richard in there did too. Very efficient and not intrusive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shianAppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had a wonderful night away with my husband at The New Drumossie, fantastic service from wonderful staff, lovely room and the food was amazing. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Property: Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#11 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing