We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were in Inverness for a wedding and the reception was at the New Drumossie. It was a great place to stay and only a ten minute drive from the centre of Inverness. The rooms are lovely, the staff were friendly, the grounds are pretty and the restaurant is superior. Had a particularly good Highland Breakfast!

A few minor weaknesses. The WiFi in our room was weak at best and I went to the lobby to use my computer. The hotel added a £3 charge on check out for using a credit card. That's inappropriate when paying almost £200 a night. Hotel management take note!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuinnessBoy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

Having stayed at this hotel approx. 6 years ago, we regularly recommended it to other people looking for accommodation in the area. We won't be bothering from now on, apart from to suggest visiting the restaurant...

Firstly have to say that the dinner and service was faultless, really lovely meal, attentive staff and nice atmosphere. A tad expensive but don't mind as the quality was so good.

Everything else though was just poor. The room was totally lifeless, and had none of the lovely added extras we had experienced a few years early (like the decanter of whisky you could help yourself to!). The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the shower barely worked. Add this to the fact someone had blaring music on until 1am (we called reception and it turned out it was them!) we had a terrible nights sleep.

High expectations perhaps after our last visit, but unfortunately the New Drumossie has really gone downhill, fast. Interestingly, we weren't asked when checking out if we had enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlasgowRobertsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Drumossie House Hotel, Inverness. It was okay if not a little over priced for Scotland! We had a spacious room with four poster bed. There was a wedding going on at the time of arrival, however, our room was located at the front of the hotel and there was not noise etc from the celebrations. On the downside, the fridge (which presumably used to be a mini bar didn't work, the shower was very disappointing with little pressure (you can get wetter in a heavy Scottish shower of rain). This hotel though is serisouly lacking a central focus or 'heart' of the hotel. There is no bar but instead a very big lobby area (where you can order drinks) but it's very impersonal. It also doesn't offer bar meals after 5pm at night - just sandwiches - although I did over another couple of guests in the "bar area" being advised that their "burgers wouldn't be long"! If it's for a quick relaxing get away then dinner in the hotel is definitely over priced with the only option on the menu for vegetarians being the usual of risotto! In summary, yes fine but.....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineJ4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel 9-13th July to visit Loch Ness & the surrounding areas. The hotel was okay but very empty for midweek. The room was good but the bed was worn out as the springs pinged when you sat on it and was very hard. The water pressure in the shower was okay but could be more powerful. Our room was on the ground floor which backed onto a field and woodland, we saw four baby Deer running around playing with each other which was wonderful.
Breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from. We eat out each evening as the restaurant was quite expensive and we had booked Bed & Breakfast in our package. Inverness town centre is only five minutes away by car and has plenty of restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for a room backing onto their field/woodland to see the wild animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daisy245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel and we were amazed at how beautiful the place is; big rooms, lush sofas, excellent restaurant, and a very comfortable setting. But the hotel is getting two stars based on three items that we found disappointing and very rude. First, the double bed consisted of two twin beds pushed together. Not a very romantic setting. Second, the fridge in the room didn't work even though it was plugged in. The yogurt we planned to eat for breakfast had gone sour and when we addressed it to the front desk clerk she told us none of the fridges in the rooms worked, a huge disappointment. Third, and the biggest issue with the hotel, is that at 2:00 am in the morning, while we were asleep, the fire alarm goes off for about 3 minutes. When I called down to the front desk I was told it was a false alarm but we were offered no consolation for our frightening jolt out of bed. There was a wedding going on the same night and after consulting with a friend, it seems that the alarm was either pulled by someone at the wedding party as a prank or that the hotel staff pulled the alarm to end the party. Either way we were very upset at what should have been a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Good reception, staff very friendly but we felt a bit exposed as only ones in the restaurant.food was good and well served. Room was very good, roomy and lean.
Restaurant at breakfast was busy and the waitress was rather abrupt

Room Tip: No suggestion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beech79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Drumossie Hotel near Inverness. I have to say the hotel and staff were generally very good. However, a few items let it down and these could be as important to you as they were to me and my family.
We booked an executive family room as there were 3 of us staying for 3 nights, unfortunately the 3rd bed was a fold up occasional bed which was too small for my son, therefore 3 very uncomfortable nights. None of their family rooms have more than 1 double ( as standard). The bathroom was very nice, it looked like it had been recently upgraded, unfortunately, there was almost no water pressure, rendering the shower virtually unusable. The executive rooms also have a fridge but they have been disconnected, so you cant store juice, milk or anything else that needs childed. The venue was very noisy with a wedding on both nights of the weekend ( we were at the wedding on the first night, hence why we booked the hotel), but if your looking for peace, think twice this is a venue hotel ( very noisy in the corridors in the early hours) Therefore as a venue the hotel is very good but if your looking for a tourist hotel, i would suggest you think carefully especially if you are there for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Millie621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,903 reviews
2.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 36 in Inverness
815 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 36 in Inverness
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Family Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £46 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing