We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing break”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Lovely hotel about five minutes drive from Inverness. Very impressed with the staff from check in to leaving. Lovely room overlooking the front of the hotel and spotlessly clean. We booked dinner bed and breakfast and the dining room is well appointed and very relaxing. Great friendly, professional service and the food was first class in taste and presentation. Also good choice for breakfast.
We had a few drinks in the lounge prior to dinner and the drink prices were reasonable.
We will go back to this hotel, we stayed on a Sunday night which was nice as I think it could get busy as it is popular for wedding and conferences.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the road but this was not a problem as it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie78-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    168
    86
    35
    14
See reviews for
96
263
17
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Had heard from a friend that the food was brilliant so snapped up a 3 for 2 nights deal which included dinner.
We were very impressed by the level of service, quality of food, attitude of staff and the hotel in general - all absolutely fantastic!!!
Extremely child friendly and staff really could not do more to make your stay comfortable.
Restaurant really lives up to its reputation and deserves it's two rosette rating, could not fault a single thing.
Will certainly go back and have already recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumwithtoddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We aways fancied a trip to inverness and found Drumossie on line at a really good rate. Our expectations were exceeded, The foyer makes a grand entrance, the hotel was spotlessly clean, and we had a beautiful room, overlooking the hotel drive, with room to sit and relax instead of having to perch on the bed. Drinks were served in the lounge prior to be 'walked' into dinner, saved you waiting at the table for your food. Breakfast and dinner both had a central table beautifully displayed for the occasion, food was excellent. Service was with a smile and they took time to chat without being intrusive, would definately go again. The hotel is in a secluded spot yet two minute drive to Inverness, plenty grounds to walk.

Room Tip: We had a doule executive room at the front of the hotel, very little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Spent a weekend at the New Drummosie hotel whilst attending a conference in the hotel. Overall a very good experience, would give 4.5 if this was possible. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, let down a bit by sluggish service, staff needed to be reminded twice about wine order.
The food at the conference dinner was probably the best I have had for that number of guests. Breakfast was also good, the staff dealt with complaint about undercooked food very well. The electric heating in our room was only just adequate, particularly if the power was left off when leaving the room. Only two 13A sockets in the room, the position of which did not allow a phone charger to be plugged in. Extension cable provided very quickly by housekeeping, so I guess this is a common request. Dont let these comments put you off staying. With just a little more attention to detail the hotel would be excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just back from two night stay at the New Drumossie Hotel. Can only say fantastic. Every member of staff was polite, friendly and very attentive. The rooms were great. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean. Our evening meal in the dining room was one of the best meals I have ever eaten and breakfast was just as good. Will definitely be paying a visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Had a couple of nights at Drumossie. Hotel staff were excellent very friendly & polite. Breakfast was first class, with lots of choice and serice second to none. Downside a bit more attention to the small details of cleaning is needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdowalllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We had a lovely time at the new drumossie. The rooms were a nice size, clean and lovely. The star though was the amazing meal we had in the restaurant and the fantastic service from all the staff. A great experience. Would definitely come back and recommend to other people.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
2.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
544 reviews
2.3 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Property: Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#11 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing