We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but needs better organisation and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
smileplus
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok but needs better organisation and service”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed for one night dinner bed and breakfast, 2 rooms with our teenage daughter. The hotel has very dated decor but it is good quality and works somehow. It is the third Macdonald hotel I have stayed in and they are all similar. It has a charm and attention to detail, the rooms are well equipped and clean although the bed was hard and uncomfortable.
The food is ok but dinner was not cheap and felt quite rushed. We were late sitting down (9pm) and finished 3 courses by 10pm by which time the whole restaurant had been prepared for breakfast.!
My main complaint was queuing for over 20 minutes to check out- several people waiting and only one receptionist - I had a similar experience at the North Berwick branch a few months ago- this hotel chain needs to improve service to its customers!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newhaven191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    170
    88
    35
    14
See reviews for
103
269
17
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsoy
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for dinner, bed and breakfast. Our room (209) was very spacious, the evening meal was excellent and the breakfast would be hard to beat in Scotland (especially the black puddings!). Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1PDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Been in a lot of 4 star hotels recently, for various reasons, and this one still rankles as being really poor, and I'm embarrassed to admit it's in Scotland - what must tourists think?
Unfortunately, this short break was meant to be a treat for someone who doesn't get much time off work, and it ended up being the only hotel I've ever left early it was so bad. As a luxury break it was a disaster.
I had phoned to ask their recommendation of a superior room with a view, which I booked. I was surprised as it was at the very end of a corridor with extra beds stored in it you had to squeeze past. When we got in the room it had a high level window only so, being small, so much for my view. The floor sloped and squeaked, but trying to be positive, it was a good size as was the bathroom. Went to the bar, couldn't find a bar attendant, when 15 minutes later someone did appear, he couldn't find the drinks - we ordered nothing fancy - and had to 'go to the cellar', so disappeared. 10 minutes later we had 2 drinks neither of which we'd ordered, but we accepted them as it was getting farcical. It just carried on from there but the final straw was when we tried to have a shower, and got literally a trickle, which when we enquired seemed to be normal for 'that end of the hotel.' I had to boil a kettle to rinse my hair, and it's only short. We asked to speak to management, which also took over an hour to happen, but got absolutely nowhere and they couldn't give us a better room - it was very much a take it or leave it scenario as far as they were concerned.
If I thought I'd get anywhere I'd write to MacDonald management directly, maybe they'll respond to this review?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Having read the reviews re-restaurant I had high expectations of a delicious lunch out with friends there. The service was prompt, the dishes well presented but most unexciting! The starter of ham terrine and sweet of cream/fruit pavlova were pleasant but no better than you could put on a plate yourself.
The main course looked very good and the plates were hot. The vegetables were nice but the slow cooked beef stringy and complately tasteless. Most disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking22210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Booked a 2 night stay at the last minute so got a very good rate. The room was excellent lovely and large but sold as a double but was actually 2 twins together and 2 separate quilts. The room was clean but let down by a very noisy fan in the bathroom which spoiled a relaxing bath. The water pressure was excellent so bath filled really quickly. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night and were surprised and overjoyed by the fantastic service and the wonderful food. The service was second to none and the staff polite,helpful and well trained. Second night we ate out to try the town. We didn't have breakfast as not included in price. Our room overlooked the car park at the front.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Had heard about this hotel from friends who have been at several events in the conference centre. It came highly recommended and rightly so. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated, the bathroom was also very spacious with a large bath and seperate walk-in shower. The lounge area is comfortable and the dining room set out perfectly. Our evening meal, served by excellent waiting staff, was superb and the same applies to the breakfast. It was very quiet when we stayed but would hope they would provide the same service when busy. The hotel does sit a little out of the city but if planning to visit Culloden and surrounding area it's ideal. Prices very reasonable for the standard provided. Will definitely return - hopefully before too long.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbskyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel was very comfortable if a bit old fashioned in decoration. We had a large room overlooking the car park at the front. Bathroom was very clean but the shower a bit weak. Used to a power shower in this type of hotel. There was no shampoo in the toiletries so glad we had taken our own. We were given some the next day though. Bizarrely there were no drawers for storage - just shelves in the wardrobe. These were very dusty and I had to clean them first before using them. Bed was comfortable. The lounge areas were nice and there was a wedding the day we arrived. Plenty of space not to feel overwhelmed by guests.
Breakfast the first day was spoiled by the waitress who took my husband's order and started taking mine and was disgraced by people entering the dining room. She turned her back therefor missing me saying I would have the same as my husband with a potato scone and fried egg. He got a full breakfast, I got a potato scone and fried egg!!!! I was too shocked to say anything.
The Maitre d' gave us good advice on sight seeing around Inverness.
We had dinner the first night and it was delicious. The service was first class.
The hotel web page suggested it was 5 minutes from the station. It is actually 41/2 miles from Inverness and even a car was pushed to do it in 5 minutes. We walked and had to get a taxi back. The walk in to the town is not very scenic so probably not worth it as there are much nicer walks along the river. We did enjoy the stay but could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,731 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
2.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
571 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#19 of 34 in Inverness
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Property: Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#11 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing