We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

went to drummosie for a meal one hight we met friends who were staying there so obviously had a good look around there lovely rooms outstanding clean and very nice after having a couple of drinks in the room we went down for the meal we were met by attentive waiters and waitresses to they brought the food to the table very promptly and it was absolutely delicious starters and the main courses which also delicious well cooked and also hot lovely huge big round tables so no knocking elbows when eating smart surroundings too altogether a very pleasant meal food was excellent
i dont know what the bill was as my friend payed it but what ever it was it was well worth it and would recommend this place for a meal out and dress up smartly to match surroundings if you visit inverness stay there a definately eat there 5 stars anyway

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tevia406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed for one night dinner bed and breakfast, 2 rooms with our teenage daughter. The hotel has very dated decor but it is good quality and works somehow. It is the third Macdonald hotel I have stayed in and they are all similar. It has a charm and attention to detail, the rooms are well equipped and clean although the bed was hard and uncomfortable.
The food is ok but dinner was not cheap and felt quite rushed. We were late sitting down (9pm) and finished 3 courses by 10pm by which time the whole restaurant had been prepared for breakfast.!
My main complaint was queuing for over 20 minutes to check out- several people waiting and only one receptionist - I had a similar experience at the North Berwick branch a few months ago- this hotel chain needs to improve service to its customers!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newhaven191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for dinner, bed and breakfast. Our room (209) was very spacious, the evening meal was excellent and the breakfast would be hard to beat in Scotland (especially the black puddings!). Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1PDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Been in a lot of 4 star hotels recently, for various reasons, and this one still rankles as being really poor, and I'm embarrassed to admit it's in Scotland - what must tourists think?
Unfortunately, this short break was meant to be a treat for someone who doesn't get much time off work, and it ended up being the only hotel I've ever left early it was so bad. As a luxury break it was a disaster.
I had phoned to ask their recommendation of a superior room with a view, which I booked. I was surprised as it was at the very end of a corridor with extra beds stored in it you had to squeeze past. When we got in the room it had a high level window only so, being small, so much for my view. The floor sloped and squeaked, but trying to be positive, it was a good size as was the bathroom. Went to the bar, couldn't find a bar attendant, when 15 minutes later someone did appear, he couldn't find the drinks - we ordered nothing fancy - and had to 'go to the cellar', so disappeared. 10 minutes later we had 2 drinks neither of which we'd ordered, but we accepted them as it was getting farcical. It just carried on from there but the final straw was when we tried to have a shower, and got literally a trickle, which when we enquired seemed to be normal for 'that end of the hotel.' I had to boil a kettle to rinse my hair, and it's only short. We asked to speak to management, which also took over an hour to happen, but got absolutely nowhere and they couldn't give us a better room - it was very much a take it or leave it scenario as far as they were concerned.
If I thought I'd get anywhere I'd write to MacDonald management directly, maybe they'll respond to this review?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Having read the reviews re-restaurant I had high expectations of a delicious lunch out with friends there. The service was prompt, the dishes well presented but most unexciting! The starter of ham terrine and sweet of cream/fruit pavlova were pleasant but no better than you could put on a plate yourself.
The main course looked very good and the plates were hot. The vegetables were nice but the slow cooked beef stringy and complately tasteless. Most disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viking22210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Booked a 2 night stay at the last minute so got a very good rate. The room was excellent lovely and large but sold as a double but was actually 2 twins together and 2 separate quilts. The room was clean but let down by a very noisy fan in the bathroom which spoiled a relaxing bath. The water pressure was excellent so bath filled really quickly. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night and were surprised and overjoyed by the fantastic service and the wonderful food. The service was second to none and the staff polite,helpful and well trained. Second night we ate out to try the town. We didn't have breakfast as not included in price. Our room overlooked the car park at the front.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Had heard about this hotel from friends who have been at several events in the conference centre. It came highly recommended and rightly so. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated, the bathroom was also very spacious with a large bath and seperate walk-in shower. The lounge area is comfortable and the dining room set out perfectly. Our evening meal, served by excellent waiting staff, was superb and the same applies to the breakfast. It was very quiet when we stayed but would hope they would provide the same service when busy. The hotel does sit a little out of the city but if planning to visit Culloden and surrounding area it's ideal. Prices very reasonable for the standard provided. Will definitely return - hopefully before too long.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbskyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,902 reviews
2.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 36 in Inverness
815 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 36 in Inverness
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £39 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing