We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

From big smiles and polite staff from walking in the door to a beautiful room with all the amenities you could ask for, you are bound to have an incredible stay at The New Drumossie. The room my fiancée and I stayed in was huge a massive bed, beautiful bathroom and a very classic house hotel feel. Old school touches such as letter paper and envelopes. Real coffee rather than instant. There was dressing gowns, big and comfy really able to relax in your room.

For dinner we ate in the hotels restaurant which again was incredible. The waiting staff pulling your chair out and placing the napkin on you lap to the out of this world dinning experience. I couldn't quite believe how great the staff and the food were, everything was so smooth flowing no rush but no delays just a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

My tip is simple just stay at the Drumossie whatever the reason you won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FerrisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    170
    88
    35
    14
See reviews for
103
269
17
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel just on the outskirts of Inverness. We had booked this hotel for my birthday trip to Scotland and to celebrate Burns night. I just have to say it was like home from home in the warmth and being made to feel special here and did not feel just a number in a big hotel chain . This was all down to the head housekeeper Gillian who did everything in her power to make our stay lovely . I just wish so many other hotels had someone like this on their staff . Thank you Gillian for making our stay so special . Jane & Denise

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillowTheWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

First visit to drumossie staff were excellent. Had a great stay . Food great. Lovely bedroom Hogmanay party really good. No faults. Would definitely be booking again. Staff were extremely helpful. Maybe £4. For a cup of coffee was a bit much but couldn't complain as everything else was so good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This was my husband and I's 3rd visit to the hotel, we decided to book one of the feature rooms since it was a New Year break. We stayed 2 nights and could not fault the hotel at all, we had dinner in the restaurant on our first night stay, we haven't ate in the restaurant on previous stays, the food was excellent and the waiting staff were lovely, would really like to thank Richard who made our dining experience excellent! Couldn't do enough to make you feel comfortable and welcome. Our second night stay we had room service and again the food couldn't be faulted along with the staff 's service. Our room was lovely with a four poster bed and the bathroom was nice and modern with all that you could want for a romantic break. We hope to return to the hotel for Hogmanay this year as we enjoyed ourselves so much on this stay. Thank you

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Megannbaxter1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Attended a party night on 13th December...entertainment was great and that was all! Food was terrible, nothing more than that served in a school! Was so disappointed, made this clear to a "manager" (one of many) and I am still waiting for an acknowledgement of my complaint. Expected so much more from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chazzy1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here several times first starting with our honeymoon five years ago and have never been disappointed. The hotel is lovely and relaxing and the staff are courteous, polite and very friendly. The dining experience is wonderful, so much choice and so well presented. I would highly recommend this hotel. SK Aberdeen

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the New Drumossie Hotel in late November 2013 and just before the Christmas festivities got underway. It was a truly relaxing experience based on traditional values. We were served drinks in the comfortable lounge whilst making our menu choice for dinner. We were then escorted into the dining room where we had a lovely dinner.
The staff were attentive and friendly throughout without being overbearing.
We loved the dining room for both our dinner and the breakfast in the morning as the tables are spacious and the chairs are very comfortable. We look forward to a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,731 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
2.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
571 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#19 of 34 in Inverness
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Property: Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#11 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing