We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideas above its station!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ideas above its station!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel believes it is a five star - it is not. Arrived mid evening to a brusque receptionist who informed me I'd have to book a table immediately if I wanted dinner. No casual bar dining. Food pricy and wine extortionate for glass. Food was reasonable but vey small portions. Service adequate but impersonal. Room dull, no air conditioning and smelt fusty. No doubt they can fleece tourists but not for the business traveller.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank GreggLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    170
    88
    35
    14
See reviews for
103
269
17
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad Quesada, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

An enjoyable stay. Pleasant well trained staff. Dinner was presented excellently & food of good quality.
Breakfast also good, service a little long due to high number of guests.
Bedroom fine, but our room had a very hard mattress. I thought our home mattress was hard!
Much better value for money than where we recently stayed in the centre of Inverness, plus paying for parking.
This is a definate stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank philcrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stunning room with beautiful views over the gardens. 5 star standards through out the hotel.
Food first class. Food amazing .
Service excellent.
Staff friendly and attentive.
Setting lovely.
Will definitely be back love the McDonald hotels stayed at many would recommend highly to friends and family.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 290562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbalbans
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Arrived at the hotel only to be questioned as to when we had booked the hotel and with whom. We showed our paperwork - booked with late rooms a month previously. Finally after shifty whispering between the two receptionists it was established that the booking had a spelling mistake in our name and it was infact booked. Phew. We were given our room key and asked if we wanted breakfast. We then had to explain that the booking included evening meal and breakfast. Again a bit of close whispering and finally asked when we would like dinner. To say we felt uncomfortable was an understatement.
We arrived for dinner and were told to wait in the lounge. Again we felt unwelcome and almost did not bother. Finally a very nice lady called sinead gave us the menu and apologied for the noise as there was a function on. This did not bother us at all. Eventually we were asked to make our way to the restaurant where we were reminded that we had to chose from the al a carte menu as part of our 'deal' we were not offered the choice of another menu. The food was ok - rather a strange combination of savoury popcorn with a 3 inch square of pork belly. We only wish that we were offered another menu as we would have happily paid for a plate of food.
The room was comfortAble with all the item you would expect in a four star hotel. We should have had an executive room but we are not sure if that is what we got. Breakfast was plentiful but lacked atmosphere. Vey good choice of cooked breakfast. On check out the two ladies were again on the desk. We were asked if everything was ok with our stay which it was.
Overall very annoyed at the receptionists attitude on arrival and departure. And for this reason would not go back. They completely lacked any form of custom service and if they had asked for the booking ref in the first place they would have noticed the spelling mistake. We were also supposed to have tea on arrival - no mention of this Nd a voucher for a local attraction- again no mention of this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flory44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and found the room to be very comfortable and well appointed, in fact it was quite luxurious. It was the best nights sleep we had in our four day trip. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was very good. The only downside for us was the lack of a bar - you could get drinks served in the lounge, however you do not get the same atmosphere from that, so after one drink we went up to our room. We felt that we had good value for money during our stay and would stay again if in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trinmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Four of us pre booked afternoon tea here yesterday........from the initial call to book a table to when we left the hotel the service was first class..........the tea was the best I have had in Inverness and certainly on a par with some of the top London hotels where I have also had tea.........the table was beautifully set for our arrival........the sandwiches were lovely........ham and mustard.......smoked salmon ........lovely egg mayonnaise........all the baking was home made as you would expect from a 4 star hotel........scones with lovely thick cream and jam........meringues.......cupcakes.......chocolate tarts.......macaroons..........all amazing.........service was excellent although not intrusive with regular top ups of tea and coffee.......whether you are a guest or live locally you don't know what you are missing and all for £10 per person which is great value........thank you Drumossie we will be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank blackisler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our second visit to the Drumossie was as successful as the last. Even the base rate gives a luxurious room with a walk-in shower. All members of staff are friendly and helpful, whilst the food is excellent. Both dinner and breakfast menus offer a wide choice. All the dishes we had were well cooked and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,726 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
2.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
569 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#19 of 34 in Inverness
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Property: Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#11 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing