We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient room, house atmosphere can be better”
Review of Melrose Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melrose Villa
Ranked #216 of 234 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2013

stay was ok, and the bnb tender was friendly.
However, a curious smell in the whole house (smelled like toilet bleach) and at first annoying. Rooms and amenities are clean though. But still, smell and overall darkness of the house are not welcoming neither enjoyable. One of the windows was broken, and you could hear the noise in the street: earplugs!
Breakfast was ok, coffee as many other bnb is made of powder nescafe, that's a shame.
No discount for 2-days night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

This B&B has strict check-in times. I arrived at 16:30 (on time) the owner was not present. 10 mins later he rolled up asking if I was waiting for him. I asked if he was the proprietor as he hadn't bothered to introduce himself. He shrugged off the fact he was late without apology simply saying he's usually there! Not true, read other reviews. The entrance vestibule was filthy, covered in scruffy hand-written notices barking do's and don't's at guests. The whole house is covered in such notices. The house smells of dogs, is very dusty and gloomy and the owner clearly has lost interest.
Although I had been led to believe from Eviivo website that a cooked breakfast was provided, I was informed that this had changed and I was asked to pay a hefty supplement (£8) for a cooked breakfast. I breakfasted elsewhere as I was put off by the obviously poor hygiene! I felt utterly misled by the 'Toprooms' description of this property and indeed my poorly rated review has been removed from their website! Disgraceful. All in all an utterly depressing experience and poor value even given the modest room rate. I couldn't wait to leave in the morning. This B&B owner is cynically exploiting unsuspecting guests and if I hadn't paid in advance, I would never have stayed at this location. The owner is as charmless and lugubrious as the property!
Please heed the low rated reviews, from my experience, they are the accurate ones!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaime186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed here for two nights and found the place to be in a good location (short walk to downtown and to train station), have clean, quiet rooms, and serve an excellent Scottish breakfast. Kenny is a very friendly guy who makes you feel very welcome. The other guests were the real highlight and the breakfast conversations were quite engaging. If you want a genuine experience in a beautiful city, this is the place.

Room Tip: Single room was small, but perfect for a solo traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed for one night. I tried to contact Kenny about checking in early but no one answered the phone at all. I had tried calling numerous times and at different time of the day but had no luck. Kenny was very friendly the rooms are pretty dated and the bathroom was not very clean. Breakfast was good and everyone was very friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illuswon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Clean, comfortable, great breakfast, well located - the title speaks for itself - and all at a very reasonable price. This B&B is an old-fashioned gem of a place, only 5 mins walk across the river to the city centre. I had a very comfortable stay here on 3 separate nights during my rail trip from Stonehaven to Kyle of Lochalsh, walking the Great Glen Way from Inverness to Drumnadrochit en route, so the generous, well-cooked breakfast really hit the spot! Kenny is a genial Scots host who makes you feel very welcome - it's just a pity he's retiring from the business and the house is up for sale as there's a definite need for more places like this.

Room Tip: Busy road to the front, so a room to the rear is advisable if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotfree53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Absolutely dreadful place. We couldn't ignore the filth of the place. It has never been cleaned properly and never dusted. The smell of dogs greeted us as well as we arrived. Even the bed boards were covered in dust and a mucky soap bar was left in the toilet for use, what an insult!!!!

Never again!!!!

AM from Mexico

Room Tip: Read all the reviews first so this can give you a better idea of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Was met by the proprietor Kenny upon arrival and he's a cheery chap, just the right kind of guy to run a B&B. Told me some good places to go for a meal (including The Mustard Seed which was fantastic) and answered any questions I had. I was in room 7, a nice little en-suite room with freeview and access to wi-fi. I can't comment on the breakfast as I although I stayed for two nights I slept in the first (hangover!) and was away early the second. The room was well worth £35 a night and if I'm in Inverness again, I'd have no problem staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0 mi away
Cedar Villa Guest House
Cedar Villa Guest House
#109 of 234 in Inverness
154 reviews
9.8 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
794 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
3.7 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Villa

Address: 35 Kenneth Street, Inverness, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £59 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melrose Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melrose Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Villa Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing