We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Quaich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #55 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Quaich”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This would have to be the best B&B that I have stayed in my travels over the years. When any traveller first arrives you get a warm welcome from Arafeh.
Arafeh is very attentive to people's needs including finding out if they have any allergies.
His wife and daughter are very welcoming as well. Mariam (Arafeh's daughter) is really cute and Arafeh dotes on her. It was wonderful to meet people from all over the world including some kiwis who were working and came to Scotland for a weekend.
Arafeh wouldn't tell you what to do in Inverness but give you suggestions and then let you make up your own mind.
The pancakes are to die for as are his soft boiled eggs.

My room was warm and comfortable and if I ever go back to Inverness I will stay there again.

Room Tip: The room at the top is the best one as you can get a good view through the skylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
45
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in May 2013. The host, Arefeh, was very welcoming despite our slightly late arrival and gave us some good advice on where to grab a late bite. He was friendly throughout our stay. Our room was a little on the small side but perfectly adequate for the two nights we were there. Breakfast was the usual toast/cereals/cold meat and cheese plus freshly cooked pancakes and boiled eggs. A big plus is the proximity to town, just a few minutes across the bridge to a number of restaurants. We'd happily recommend to others.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa_and_Kyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A warm welcome, wonderful breakfast, clean comfortable rooms and very friendly host. Combined with the location, within walking distance of city, bus station, castle etc, you cannot go wrong in this place. For me it's the place to be! All reviews (except one???) proof me right.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CypRolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very pleasant and clean environment and excellent homemade pancakes for breakfast. Very close to the center in a quiet area of Inverness. Thank you Petra and Arafhi for a pleasant stay. I can only recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marketa_J_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The Quaich Bed and Breakfast I was with my girlfriend experienced the worst holiday in my life. The owner Mr. Arafeh Alash us acted like a rude knave who disdain anything. Abused our vulnerability and poor English. Absolutely absurd accused us of stealing £ 1,000 from his locked apartment (!?!?!?) And although police none of this has not established arbitrarily threw us on the streets - in the middle of the stay, which was paid in advance. Apparently it was a premeditated plot and no theft has become real. Mr. Alash us during payment or receipt printed out, we could therefore not rely rights. (At the beginning of your stay, we hope that bill will give later.) We believe that our stay Mr. Arafeh or did not recognize and not tax.

The whole of our experience we described how the police in Inverness, and HM Revenue and Customs. Here is the event properly documented.

The Quaich Bed and Breakfast is in their own interest and avoid ever Do not live there!

Marek Flegl, gunther.wallenrod@gmail.com

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Marek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arafeh S, Owner at The Quaich Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
I am very disappointed that tripadvisor allow inaccurate and false reviews to go live on their website.

We welcome all comments but this review is completely not true. you have to look at the other reviews and you'll see that we are at the Quaich B&B take our small family business very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The Quaich is a welcoming and comfortable establishment. Arafeh was very helpful and shared ideas of places to eat and enjoy music that evening. Both were spot on. Free wi-fi with good bandwidth a bonus. Had a nice sleep and excellent breakfast without the greasy fry. Definitely will stay here when I return to Inverness.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had a lovely stay in this B&B in Inverness. Really warm and friendly host. Told us exactly where to go and all the good areas around. Had lots of pamphlets for us to see and even offered us discount coupons for drinks.

Room Tip: If you want big rooms, this is not a place for you. But if youre just looking for a place close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saherk91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Eskdale Guest House
Eskdale Guest House
#49 of 231 in Inverness
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mardon Guest House
Mardon Guest House
#52 of 231 in Inverness
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acer Glen B&B
Acer Glen B&B
#59 of 231 in Inverness
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ardmeanach House
Ardmeanach House
#35 of 231 in Inverness
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 231 in Inverness
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#19 of 231 in Inverness
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quaich Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quaich Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
Address: 36 Greig Street, Inverness IV3 5PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Quaich Bed and BreakfastThe Quiach B & B is a charming Victorian terraced house built in 1872. The house has been tastefully refurbished retaining many original features and offers guests quality accommodation at affordable prices. Located in a quiet residential area, just close to the city centre, The Quaich is a 3-5 minute walk from the shopping pedestrian precinct, Inverness Castle and Loch Ness is only a 15 minute drive from the house. With a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere and It's the ideal base to visit Inverness and the Highlands and also a good base for golf and family holidays.Our RoomsWe have 2 double rooms with en-suite facilities, one twin room and one single room. Both twin and single room share bathroom facilities. Please note that the twin room is on the 2nd floor and it might not be suitable for some people.Price includes: Substantial continental breakfast Wireless Internet all around the house Parking on the street (permit provided) Non-smoking establishment We are opened all year round (even Christmas Day and New Years Day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Quaich Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quaich Bed And Breakfast Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing