We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Roux

Chez Roux
Ranked #52 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tongeren
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

fresh fish, great Scottish meat, in short a place to recommend after a day on Loch Ness.
and as a starter, a unique presentation of the terrine de saumon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M0rgan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    14
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience. Lived up to the Roux reputation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our evening at Chez Roux, Inverness was very pleasant and memorable, and made all the more pleasant by an enthusiastic young man by the name of Ross, who served us at the outset with our aperitifs before we sat down to dinner.

Food was cooked well, and pretty much outstanding. The cheese souffle lived up to the Roux Senior reputation, the pig's head croquette was great, and the tomato soup was excellent. Our steaks were full of flavor, the chunky fries were a delight and the sea-bass was very well prepared.

Desserts - the panna cotta was rich and robust, and the chocolate fondant was declared the "best I've had".

Chez Roux in Inverness - what a contrast to our Le Gavroche experience in London (see my other review). Like night and day, with helpful and knowledgeable servers in the dining room who were pleasant and answered all our queries in the best way possible.

A dining experience to return to - Mr Albert Roux, you should be very proud that you've maintained your very high standards, a la The Waterside Inn! Thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MajidiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Almost 4 stars but not quite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had been looking forward to eating here for a while, we have dined here a couple of times and it had been ok
We enjoyed our gin and tonics although the bar man/boy didn't have the air of confidence that you feel should be second nature to establishments such as this a welcoming mine host he was not but he was young and chatty enough.

Order taken efficiently and we were sat in the dining room within a reasonable amount of time. I thought the sourdough type bread was fine if a little too hard and crusty but my husband enjoyed it .
I had chosen ( from reading about them here) the cheese soufflé. And hubby had pork cheek croquette. I have to say that the soufflé was one of the worst starters I have ever eaten a tasteless whipped egg white with some stringy cheese floating on a soup of lukewarm cream.
I then had duck breast cooked medium rare which also was pretty uninspiring with a bit of potato something that appeared to be pre cooked and reheated. Hubby had sea bass which he enjoyed. Our wine was good!
Himself had cheese which was described as "local" now we have an abundance of fantastic cheese makers in the highlands so why offer 3 English and french cheeses and one!!!!! Isle of mull cheddar that's not local at all I'm afraid. Try Connage, Achmore or even Orkney cheeses they don't disappoint . The girl who cut the cheese did know a bit about them but didn't really manage to slice them very well. Again she was young and lacking a bit of oomph about her .
Finally the bill arrived - thankfully hubby checked it and we had been charged for scallops! Steak and a far more expensive wine! Wrong bill. No excuse for that either really slapdash? Or wanting to get home?
In all a bit of a disappointment there are far better places to eat that provide local food at good value.
Think the staff need better training I would have expected confident slick service with a bit of natural conversation.
Probably wont be back which is a pity as its 5 minutes from our house
It could have and should have been amazing but fell well short of the 5 star mark. Or even the 4 star one for that matter

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KettlesInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

INCREDIBLE meal here at Chez Roux. The cheese souffle is to die for! One of our waitresses was a little green, but otherwise service and food was really wonderful- for one vegetarian and one meat eater.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lightofnyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our table opinion was divided”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Some said it was the best steak they'd ever had but the veggie option was very bland and verging on dull. Service was excellent, although I prefer my atmosphere a little more relaxed. This is a very 'over done' hotel in terms of decor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsFFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Roux also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing