We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian Restaurant in Inverness” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Ocean

Indian Ocean
Ranked #71 of 252 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant in Inverness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is the best Indian Restaurant in Inverness.It is near to the train station and bus station. I just love the food everytime I visit this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WishtoTraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    77
    29
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
411 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Meal - Poor Pickle Tray though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We arrived late into town, and tried to eat here, but there was nowhere to park. We grabbed a take away instead. The Mea was excellent, but the pickles with Pops were pretty poor. Shame as they really bumped up the price.

Would certainly go there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great,yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Good service , great food ! Were given a 25% discount card so will may well visit more often ;)
Parking and trainstation close at hand

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morag v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Coming from Glasgow I am used to excellence in Indian restaurants. This restaurant is ok but only ok. I had a takeaway of chicken pakora and lamb bhoona with a plain naan bread. The pakora was a bit dry but otherwise ok. The sauce of the lamb bhoona was delicious and the meat was not as tender as I would have liked. The naan was a bit disappointing being flabby and tasteless. A complementary pappadom and onions was supplied and at about £14 the price was ok. All in all an ok meal but untemarkable

Helpful?
Thank hopefultraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I will say Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

On a Saturday night we were lucky to get a table booked for us with a short notice made us to think about the food.

Ordered the poppadoms with chutney which we couldn't find any fault. Was exactly right with no excess oil.

Kids liked very much.then starter

Tandoori chicken Tikka - this also we couldn't find any fault absolutely fine and good.

then mixed platter for one as we decided first to try.

Fish and chicken were good. Meat samosa was good.

Fish cakes was good.

I would say the starters were really good.

Coming to main course.
1.Special fried rice along with moglai chicken curry.
We asked to prepre mild as I was along with my two kids.

No taste at all. Just plain and again base was chicken Tikka as the main ingredient.

It was little sweet.

Then one bowl of special fried rice is good enough for 2 adults.
They should have informed that 1 should be sufficientwhen I ordered for 2 bowls as place to place the bowl size is different.

I was not satisfied.

2 . Plain Naan - thick and didn't quite enjoy.

3. Fish fingers and chips- was ordered for my 5 year old daughter and I could not comment as I didn't taste them.

Lastly dessert

Mango Kulfi and Kids Kwakka Icecream no one can find any fault.


Overall I would rate as average and not worth of money ~60£ I would say.

Helpful?
Thank Suresh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Ocean also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Indian Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing